We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on a Rick Steves review. At first glance, the place is just nice-ish. Sort of like a grown-up person's hostel. But after a few days, the friendly staff and neighborhood grew on us. The location is very quiet, and our room looked out into a lovely courtyard, with lots of parrots and other birds singing in the mornings. The hotel is clean, modestly appointed, and the beds are super comfortable. The vent shaft behind our room was problematic, if we opened the window on that side of the room, we were quickly reminded that sewage odors are common in the city of diamonds. We just left that window shut and the problem was corrected. The wifi worked pretty well, a feature we had struggled with in other hotels on our vacation. Also, our room had enough room to relax in, and had a dorm sized refrigerator, very nice. Overall, we'd say, a great value in a great location.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    130
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
50
115
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Avg hotel in a good location for access to the major museums. Houskeeping in public area needs attention as there was a good deal of dust on surfaces. Staff was very attentive and available. Structure of hotel did not allow direct elevator access to all floors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.
We are happy to read that you had a good time in Amsterdam and that you are happy with our staff and service.

Regarding your advise, we will definitely take note of this and do our upper best to also keep the public areas spotless and clean.

Best regards,

Hotel Alexander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel is a boutique style so everything, the room, breakfast room, terrance are all as if you were at home. The staff complete the picture. Anything you need to know, anything you need arranged, or just a warm welcome and conversation when you come back, it's all right here. Close to everything in the Leidesplein, every kind of dining, or connections to trams and rental cars are all right here. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, we stayed from Monday 26th May until Friday 30th May 2014. Staff were all so friendly! We had a triple room booked and it was a really good size! We had three single beds, a dressing table with a chair and three tub style chairs with a round table and still had lots of space in the room! There wasn't any need to be shuffling around each other which was excellent! Bathroom was a good size too! We only had breakfast on the Friday morning as we had to check out by 11 o'clock so can't comment too much but based on the breakfast on the Friday it was nice, a good choice and they were constantly replenishing items. Noticed that on some reviews that people have commented that the wi-fi wasn't very good and they could only get a connection in the reception. We never had a problem with the wi-fi! We were in room 21 which is second floor out of the three floors and it worked great for us on all three phones and two tablets!

Would recommend this hotel to others without a doubt!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a higher floor facing out onto Vondelstraat and they accommodated that no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed three nights and the room, desk and staff, and breakfast were all great. Down the street was an expensive hotel and they could not have a better room or treatment. We were on a Rick Steves tour and he always finds value for a reasonable price. Wine and other drinks, at your cost, were available in the afternoon and night and their was a very nice patio and porch to sit out on and enjoy the trees and flowers. The room was very nice and we would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The better view would be on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The staff of Hotel Alexander were super-helpful during our stay at Amsterdam. They were responsive, knowledgeable, effective, and very friendly. They responded quickly to our questions about Amsterdam even before we began our trip. Our room was spacious, clean, and quiet, with everything we needed. While the hotel was within walking distance to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum, it was quiet and has a lovely courtyard. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of delicious choices, and the coffee was great! When we realized that we were late for checking in with our cruise, the hotel manager quickly called a cab for us, and helped us carry our bags to the cab, even though he was also helping other customers. We are grateful for all the help from the hotel staff, and highly recommend Hotel Alexander to anyone who plans to stay at Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Book at least 5 months in advance for stay during the tulip season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great location for Museums, Bars and Restaurants. I needed a hotel whilst attending a trade show at a time when hotels in Amsterdam were hard to find. The Quad room was a bit expensive for sole occupancy but it was a nice room on 2nd floor of the hotel. Clean, spacious, modern bathroom with a view over the court yard. Hotel reception staff were friendly and very helpful.I enjoyed the breakfast too. It was simple but offered a good choice. Great place for a family group if you don't mind being in the same room.

Room Tip: Having seen the photos of other rooms I would suggest booking a Quad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.