We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alexander” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hotel Alexander”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel. The location is excellent and an easy walk to the museum district, restaurants and into the old town area. We found the rooms comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast quite nice with ample selection. The rooms are typical european - not too large but more than enough room for us and two large bags; the bed was very comfortable. The street is very quiet at night. The hotel also has an elevator which some hotels do not offer. We would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    87
    42
    15
    5
See reviews for
42
87
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Ludlow, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Our accommodation in this hotel was just adequate. The room is very tiny, with no air conditioning, though there was a small fan mounted on the wall. Towels were threadbare,and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. While the bed was comfortable, it was at best a doble and quite small for two. The book in the room explaining the amenities, etc, said that pay TV was 10 Euros per day, but the desk clerk knew nothing about it - and the TV itself worked only intermittently.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your review about our hotel.

Regarding your review, our roomsizes are indeed not big compared to hotelrooms in other countries. In small and dense cities like Amsterdam it is actually very common that hotelrooms are small.

Facilities like airconditioning and payTV (for extra tv channels) are not provided in simple three star hotels like ours, these can be found in hotels rated four stars and above. Gladly with our mild weather here, we hardly need any airconditioning.

We hope you had a great time in Amsterdam and that you enjoyed the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

i traveled for visit congress and i booked this hotel for one night for about 90 euro
whithout bb
I arrived in hotel 7pm and reception give me rooms key in 3floor ,
my room best name was closet 1.6* 4.5 meter (7sq meter)
after 20 minute i come back to reception to change my rome and he saeid to pay 120 euro again
and he did not accept to give me standard room
so I left this hotel and find beter hotel okura hotel
please inform that room was 7.5 sq meter and im not hapoy with this hotel and the hotel did not
change and did not refound my money

Room Tip: best epwestern apollo and okura hotel is perfect hotel which I booked in amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.
Our hotel rooms are indeed small compared to hotelrooms in other cities around the world. Amsterdam is actually known for having very small hotelrooms, this can be expected in a small and very dense capital city.

We apologize for the miscommunication between you and our employee. We did our very best to solve your problem and offered you a twopersonsroom for a small surcharge. At that time the rate for the twopersons room was 120 Euro, so only the price difference of 30 Euro had to be paid for the upgrade. Due to the miscommunication, apperantly you understood a surcharge of 120 Euro which had to be paid, this is not correct.

Just for your information, Hotel Okura is indeed a very very nice hotel. It is also the most expensive and luxurous 5 star hotel in Amsterdam (with rates three times a high as ours). Our budget three star hotel will never be able to meet up to the standards of these luxurous 5 star hotels.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam, our apologies for not being able to meet up to your high demands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Located within walking distance of museums and restaurants, the hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood, however the hotel itself is very noisy. Thin walls and floors transmit a lot of noise. The rooms are small, a bit rundown, with minimal amenities. We didn't even have drinking glasses in the room. I would not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Upon checking in before 14h one immediately told us that no rooms were available, the receptionist was not very helpful giving little and inaccurate information. We had booked a room and specified that we wanted a king-sized bed and a non smoking room... And we were given a twin-bedded room with an awfully strong cigarette smell! No alternative was given to us apart from opening the window... As for the bed... Had to be a twin! There were loads of cigarette butts and ashes on the tiny "balcony" of sorts. As for the check-out, we were told the luggage room was full and had to leave them in the lobby, when we came back the receptionist didn't even know our luggage were there... Very reassuring! What a terrible stay it was and not that cheap either.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your review about our hotel.
Our apologies for your bad experience at our hotel. Just like you, each other guest has the right to stay in his/her hotelroom until check-out time (11.00AM). This means that we cannot start cleaning the rooms earlier then 11.00AM if guests do not have an early departure. For this reason we always offer early arrival guests to leave their bags in our storage, we gave you a map and some directions about the city and told the cleaner to clean your room immediately at 11.00AM (so you could enter your room at 12.00 instead of the normal 14.00PM check-in time).

While making your booking, you are able to select a bed PREFERENCE, these requests are always taken in consideration, but are not guaranteed, because your roomtype is named "double/twin room". We managed to gave you a room with twin beds which were next to eachother, but being a small hotel with only 12 twopersonsrooms, we donot have many possibilities.

Regarding the cigarette smell, we hope you accept our sincerest apologies, since 2008 it is by law forbidden to smoke in all Hotels, Restaurants and Cafe's. Unfortunately it still happens that people try to smoke in their hotelroom. We do our best to prevent this with very sensitive smoke alarms and warnings all over, but unfortunately there are some people who ignore all these signs and still try to smoke in their room or on the balcony as in your room.

All by all, we hope you still had a good time in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Other reviewers have complained about the small rooms but we had a room on the third floor overlooking the garden. It was quite spacious and the en-suite was large. Perhaps it was because we just booked the room without breakfast. There is a lift which is a bonus. Staff are very helpful and friendly - nothing too much trouble. Excellent location within walking distance of Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum, Leidesplein where there are tram and bus stops, also express bus from Schipol airport.

Room Tip: If possible ask for room on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The rooms were small, even by European standards -- I am 5'11" and had to shower kneeling down because the ceiling was so low. The main floor bathroom was backed up and we could smell it up to our fourth floor room. When we came back at the end of the night and asked for a drink at their bar we discovered they had many empty boxes of whiskey but no actual alcohol in them. All in all, dismissive staff and a substandard room at an unreasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.
We feel sorry to hear that you did not have a nice experience with our hotel. Small hotelrooms are unfortunately very common in a small and dense city like Amsterdam. Especially when you compare it to room in Germany which is a huge country with very low density.

Regarding your experience at our little bar, our sincerest apologies. As a simple three star hotel, our main focus goes out to our service and our hotelrooms. We have a little bar with a few drinks as an extra service, but of course donot have a large selection of alcoholic drinks.

Despite of your doubts above, we hope you had a great time in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.