We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just terrible and expensive for what it is!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just terrible and expensive for what it is!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Upon checking in before 14h one immediately told us that no rooms were available, the receptionist was not very helpful giving little and inaccurate information. We had booked a room and specified that we wanted a king-sized bed and a non smoking room... And we were given a twin-bedded room with an awfully strong cigarette smell! No alternative was given to us apart from opening the window... As for the bed... Had to be a twin! There were loads of cigarette butts and ashes on the tiny "balcony" of sorts. As for the check-out, we were told the luggage room was full and had to leave them in the lobby, when we came back the receptionist didn't even know our luggage were there... Very reassuring! What a terrible stay it was and not that cheap either.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your review about our hotel.
Our apologies for your bad experience at our hotel. Just like you, each other guest has the right to stay in his/her hotelroom until check-out time (11.00AM). This means that we cannot start cleaning the rooms earlier then 11.00AM if guests do not have an early departure. For this reason we always offer early arrival guests to leave their bags in our storage, we gave you a map and some directions about the city and told the cleaner to clean your room immediately at 11.00AM (so you could enter your room at 12.00 instead of the normal 14.00PM check-in time).

While making your booking, you are able to select a bed PREFERENCE, these requests are always taken in consideration, but are not guaranteed, because your roomtype is named "double/twin room". We managed to gave you a room with twin beds which were next to eachother, but being a small hotel with only 12 twopersonsrooms, we donot have many possibilities.

Regarding the cigarette smell, we hope you accept our sincerest apologies, since 2008 it is by law forbidden to smoke in all Hotels, Restaurants and Cafe's. Unfortunately it still happens that people try to smoke in their hotelroom. We do our best to prevent this with very sensitive smoke alarms and warnings all over, but unfortunately there are some people who ignore all these signs and still try to smoke in their room or on the balcony as in your room.

All by all, we hope you still had a good time in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    94
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
43
93
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Other reviewers have complained about the small rooms but we had a room on the third floor overlooking the garden. It was quite spacious and the en-suite was large. Perhaps it was because we just booked the room without breakfast. There is a lift which is a bonus. Staff are very helpful and friendly - nothing too much trouble. Excellent location within walking distance of Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum, Leidesplein where there are tram and bus stops, also express bus from Schipol airport.

Room Tip: If possible ask for room on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The rooms were small, even by European standards -- I am 5'11" and had to shower kneeling down because the ceiling was so low. The main floor bathroom was backed up and we could smell it up to our fourth floor room. When we came back at the end of the night and asked for a drink at their bar we discovered they had many empty boxes of whiskey but no actual alcohol in them. All in all, dismissive staff and a substandard room at an unreasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.
We feel sorry to hear that you did not have a nice experience with our hotel. Small hotelrooms are unfortunately very common in a small and dense city like Amsterdam. Especially when you compare it to room in Germany which is a huge country with very low density.

Regarding your experience at our little bar, our sincerest apologies. As a simple three star hotel, our main focus goes out to our service and our hotelrooms. We have a little bar with a few drinks as an extra service, but of course donot have a large selection of alcoholic drinks.

Despite of your doubts above, we hope you had a great time in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Easy to reach, about ten minutes tram ride from the Central Station. Nice, quiet location, but still within easy walking distance - approx. ten minutes - from the museums and the canals. We were well received in the reception, and given good information on places to see. We had ordered a double room. It was very small, a small double bed covering most of the floor, and a small desk. A large window facing the nice back yard gave lot of light in the room. The bathroom was nice and well cleaned, but was cold and had no working ventilation. This meant it was covered in a mist after a shower. Fortunately, our neighbours were quiet because there is not much isolation between the rooms. The room safe was not working, and was not fixed during our stay even though it was reported at the reception. There is free wifi, but it worked very slowly in our room on my iPad. We did not try the breakfast as there are lot of places nearby, but it looked nice.
In all: A simple hotel with a nice staff and a very good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this nice and charming hotel, where the staff addressed us a very warm hospitality. I surely recommend it.
It's located in a very nice neighborhood, with a large variety of nice restaurants and easy access to all kinds of public transportation.
It's also quite near Museumplein, one of the main attractions of the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Clean rooms, helpful staff. This is my second stay and I'll be back next year. If you're looking for room service and a chocolate on your pillow, this is not the hotel for you. This hotel is excellent in its category.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights - Feb 2014.

Room 28 - is a clean, quiet double room. Not big/spacious and a bit dated but overall perfectly good. Bath with shower curtain has a low roof so be careful if you are 6'+.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Location is great for RAI {Exbn Centre), Museums and a short walk or Tram ride to City Centre from Leidseplein.

Was a bit more costly than I had hoped as it was a late booking but def. worth the cost vs. lower cost options.

Didn't try food - lots of great options nearby.

Wi-Fi dropped out a couple of times.

Will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;