We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay-great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay-great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Clean rooms, helpful staff. This is my second stay and I'll be back next year. If you're looking for room service and a chocolate on your pillow, this is not the hotel for you. This hotel is excellent in its category.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    87
    42
    15
    5
See reviews for
42
87
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights - Feb 2014.

Room 28 - is a clean, quiet double room. Not big/spacious and a bit dated but overall perfectly good. Bath with shower curtain has a low roof so be careful if you are 6'+.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Location is great for RAI {Exbn Centre), Museums and a short walk or Tram ride to City Centre from Leidseplein.

Was a bit more costly than I had hoped as it was a late booking but def. worth the cost vs. lower cost options.

Didn't try food - lots of great options nearby.

Wi-Fi dropped out a couple of times.

Will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Friendly welcome from all staff, especially Tony and Jay. Large, quiet, warm and clean room overlooking the garden where wild parrots come to roost in the large tree. Special! Perfect location for museums and walking through central Amsterdam. The Festival of Light was in nearby locations and worth seeing soon. Just ask at the reception desk and any requests will be aided. Will recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Point, Utah, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a 22 hour layover in Amsterdam, so planned to go into town and spend the night. We had booked the Hotel Alexander and quite enjoyed it. The location was perfect, close to restaurants and easy to get to from the airport via bus 197. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and just what we needed for one night. They have a delicious breakfast buffet for 10€ each and we thought it was worth it and so convenient for our schedule. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel met all of our needs; it was clean, well-situated on a quiet street, and the people behind the desk were very helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. The room was a pretty good size for a European hotel and there was an elevator up to our floor except for the last half flight. We didn't have the breakfast at all since we bought breakfast food at a grocery store or ate out. We enjoyed walking around Vondelpark which is a short walk from the hotel; very non touristy and a good place to do a lot of people watching. It was a bit of a hike to get to the Joordan area from here but we saw a lot of interesting sights along the way. Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3nights from 15-18th Octobet this year with my brother and partner. It's a very comfortable hotel ,all rooms are clean and comfortable with lovely views of either the garden or street, the breakfast has a very good choice of food and good value. Tony and Jay, were very helpful with any requests you have and will printout any trip tickets for you, also recommend great places to eat. The Alexander is in a very good area to get around Amsterdam, I would recommend it to all my friends. Thank you Jay and Tony for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An excellent location and great reception staff. The very good at orientation, had excellent recommendations and generally were very accommodating. My single room was tiny, but I understand this is normal in Amsterdam. Unreliable Wi-Fi meant I couldn't go on line when I needed to.
No information in the room regarding the hotel or its services, for example that you need to order breakfast - a crucial omission in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.