We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel near the city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel near the city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good place near Amsterdam center. Friendly staff and good rooms. We have stayed in room that has exit in the garden. It's awesome. Also free internet access available in all areas. There are many party places near hotel, also there are some museums.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    131
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
51
115
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Easy to find, very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were cleaned everyday. Good choice at breakfast. Room myabe a little small but who needs a big room with the whole of Amsterdm to explore. Would definately stay again, great base to head out from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is old-fashioned but very well managed. Staffs are honest, friendly and professionally devoted to their jobs. The hotel was fully booked so I was given their smallest single room but they were honest about it and promised to move my room as soon as any other vacancies available, and they eventullay kept the promise.

Location is great, only 5min walking distance to the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijksmuseum. Plus, on its way, there is a shopping district.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy, WI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Alexander in Amsterdam is an excellent tourist hotel. It is located close to metro connections and therefore it is easy to access all parts of the city with a day metro pass. The hotel is a very good place to stay: good service and friendly helpful desk clerks, comfortable although small rooms (remember, you're in Europe!) and excellent showers. The floor and elevator layout was a bit strange but it's an old building retrofitted with the elevator. We thought the breakfast was quite good (they could use a toaster!) and offered with convenient hours. Do NOT use a taxi in Amsterdam unless you have a mobility impairment since the metro system is excellent and extensive. First time visitors to Amsterdam should be VERY CAREFUL to observe bicycle lanes: bicyclists in Amsterdam are absolutely insane and believe they own the road. One of our tour group was struck by a bicyclist.
All in all, a good place to stay in a nice, quiet neighborhood.

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired, ask for a room close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Location makes up for a lot in this older building, with steep stairs and tiny bath. Bed and bath were clean although shower curtain was dubious. Would recommend only if you do not plan to spend much time in the room. Staff was helpful.

Room Tip: A boxy room with no air conditioning so beware in hot weather. Be mindful of steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The area was beautiful and short walk to everything. It was hard getting up the steps into the hotel with suitcases since we are both senors and have some problems with walking. There were more steps to take to get to the room even with the lift. The breakfast was not worth the price. We did buy a tour from the hotel because we could get picked up by the tour company a block away. After the tour, we ended up down town and they did not bring us back. We had to take a taxi back. When we checked out, the young man behind the desk called for our taxi and had the driver to take our suitcases out. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, the staff were exceptional and no problem with noise. The hotel is a beautiful with old world charm.

Room Tip: First floor facing the street was a good location to see the the pretty area around
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

You get what you pay for! We came 4 together. One couple, we took a room with private shower and bathroom, good beds and clean room. Just a litte small and no view, but anyway the room was just to rest beetween walks in Amsterdam and it zell served its purpose. The other two took a room with separate beds and they where very happy about the room and the personel who was very very helpful and understandig! I wuold even want to say thats its thanks to the personel at the hotel Alexander that we hade a perfect stay at their hotel! It isnt a 5 star hotel in some peoples eyes, but seen to the prices in high season and the location of the hotel, beds and personel, we think we got more from the hotel than we payed for!
thanks to you all from the french :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.