We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but clean and comfortable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Small, but clean and comfortable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my first trip to Amsterdam and the Alexander was within walking distance to a lot of attractions and places to eat. I arrived at 11a.m. on July 22nd. well before the check in time of 2pm. I was greeted by Jay who told me my room was ready, I was relieved to here this, because of the jet lag from Canada. All I wanted to do was catch a cat nap! The single room was small with a large window that opened partially, a fan, a small desk and chair, an armoire that was tall a very narrow. There were no shelves anywhere, nor a dresser. The washroom was adequate, with hand soap and shower soap in a squeeze bottle, no shampoo. Since I was travelling solo and only stayed 3 nights. I really have no complaints about the hotel. If you are going to the airport, you can take the 197 bus directly to the airport for 4 euros. You can get the bus at the tram stop directly in front of the American Hotel, a very short walk from the Alexander Hotel. The bus runs every 15 min.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    94
    39
    14
    6
See reviews for
43
93
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant hotel in a quiet street. We had a garden room. As others have said, the rooms are small and the staff are friendly. There is a great pancake restaurant for breakfast nearby or you can eat at the hotel for 10 euros each. The hotel is close to Vondelpark and Leidseplein (restaurants) and museums. We walked or used the trams to around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great area, within 5 min walk to park and shopping.
Quiet area so perfect with young kids. There is so much walking involved in the city but the hotel is situated in a great area. Plentiful breakfast, very euro-typical. Clean patio area where you can rest and enjoy the weather. Helpful staff!
Would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've been to the dam a lot and this was easily the best hotel i have stayed in. Room was small but clean, bed was comfy and the shower had good pressure (do you really need anything else in a hotel?). you can rent bikes from the hotel which is handy, location is pretty good however we are not in the Leidesplein scene and the area behind doesn't offer much in the way of quiet local bars. you can get a bus to Leidesplein directly from the airport. Much easier than train and tram and only 4 euros each. Do it. .You won't get better for the price.

Room Tip: we were at the back of the hotel which was nice. the street is very quiet so probably doesn't ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First thing I noticed when I arrived at this hotel was the service of the staff. A very friendly and helpfull asian-looking man asked if this was my first time in Amsterdam and advised me many good places to visit here. I enjoyed my stay over here and the location is quite central. Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great hotel located on a quiet street very close to Leidesplein, the restaurant and nightlife area of Amsterdam. Very close to tram lines and to Vondel Park. Also an easy walk to the museum district (Van Gogh and Rijks).

Staff are very nice and willing to help with whatever you need.

Rooms are small but nice, relatively quiet at night. Our double room was cozy. No air conditioning, but the room did have a fan, and a small fridge that were both appreciated. The bathroom was nice, but tall people may have to bend over to fit in the shower.

Elevators to not go all the way up the the 3rd floor, so some stairs required.

Shuttle to the airport (4 euros) is about 1 block away and leaves every 15 minutes or so.

Breakfast was average for euro hotels. We stayed here as part of a Rick Steves tour. Most of our tour group also liked this hotel.

I would not hesitate to stay in this area or at this hotel again. I would not call this place luxurious, but it is a great launching pad for exploration of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Alexander is located close to all the leidseplein action, in a lovely quiet street. A 2 min walk will take you to the bustling Leidseplein square with plenty of bars and street side dining. At the square you can also take the tram to Dam square, centraal station and museumplein. The airport bus no 197 also stops at Leidseplein so you're really well connected.
Hotel is a charming old red brick building, typical of Amsterdam. It's tall and narrow with crooked and steep stairs. quirky! There is an elevator that stops at every other floor.
The room was really tiny and cramped, but that too seems to be typical for Amsterdam hotels. We were prepared for a small room, but were surprised by how small! For 2 people we were constantly bumping into each other, hardly any space around the bed. Sheets and towels were old but clean. The furnishing was really worn and needs refurbishing. Bed was hard, but we slept well enough.
The reception is really charming and warm, and the desk staff were very helpful with recommendations and directions.
Would stay here again only for the location. The price is a bit steep for the cramped rooms.

Amsterdam travel tip: buy a holland pass or an Amsterdam card as soon as you land in the airport. You can choose a package that gives you free airport or city transport, as well as a good deal on city tours, countryside tous and museum visits.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.