We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great area, within 5 min walk to park and shopping.
Quiet area so perfect with young kids. There is so much walking involved in the city but the hotel is situated in a great area. Plentiful breakfast, very euro-typical. Clean patio area where you can rest and enjoy the weather. Helpful staff!
Would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    87
    42
    15
    5
See reviews for
42
87
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've been to the dam a lot and this was easily the best hotel i have stayed in. Room was small but clean, bed was comfy and the shower had good pressure (do you really need anything else in a hotel?). you can rent bikes from the hotel which is handy, location is pretty good however we are not in the Leidesplein scene and the area behind doesn't offer much in the way of quiet local bars. you can get a bus to Leidesplein directly from the airport. Much easier than train and tram and only 4 euros each. Do it. .You won't get better for the price.

Room Tip: we were at the back of the hotel which was nice. the street is very quiet so probably doesn't ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First thing I noticed when I arrived at this hotel was the service of the staff. A very friendly and helpfull asian-looking man asked if this was my first time in Amsterdam and advised me many good places to visit here. I enjoyed my stay over here and the location is quite central. Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great hotel located on a quiet street very close to Leidesplein, the restaurant and nightlife area of Amsterdam. Very close to tram lines and to Vondel Park. Also an easy walk to the museum district (Van Gogh and Rijks).

Staff are very nice and willing to help with whatever you need.

Rooms are small but nice, relatively quiet at night. Our double room was cozy. No air conditioning, but the room did have a fan, and a small fridge that were both appreciated. The bathroom was nice, but tall people may have to bend over to fit in the shower.

Elevators to not go all the way up the the 3rd floor, so some stairs required.

Shuttle to the airport (4 euros) is about 1 block away and leaves every 15 minutes or so.

Breakfast was average for euro hotels. We stayed here as part of a Rick Steves tour. Most of our tour group also liked this hotel.

I would not hesitate to stay in this area or at this hotel again. I would not call this place luxurious, but it is a great launching pad for exploration of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Alexander is located close to all the leidseplein action, in a lovely quiet street. A 2 min walk will take you to the bustling Leidseplein square with plenty of bars and street side dining. At the square you can also take the tram to Dam square, centraal station and museumplein. The airport bus no 197 also stops at Leidseplein so you're really well connected.
Hotel is a charming old red brick building, typical of Amsterdam. It's tall and narrow with crooked and steep stairs. quirky! There is an elevator that stops at every other floor.
The room was really tiny and cramped, but that too seems to be typical for Amsterdam hotels. We were prepared for a small room, but were surprised by how small! For 2 people we were constantly bumping into each other, hardly any space around the bed. Sheets and towels were old but clean. The furnishing was really worn and needs refurbishing. Bed was hard, but we slept well enough.
The reception is really charming and warm, and the desk staff were very helpful with recommendations and directions.
Would stay here again only for the location. The price is a bit steep for the cramped rooms.

Amsterdam travel tip: buy a holland pass or an Amsterdam card as soon as you land in the airport. You can choose a package that gives you free airport or city transport, as well as a good deal on city tours, countryside tous and museum visits.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights during an unusual warm spell. They had a oscillating fan in the room that was wonderful for sleeping and creating white noise. The beds were comfortable and we had a mini fridge that came in handy. The room is very small but to be expected in large city. There is a lift every other floor. The help at the desk was excellent for everyone that worked there. Very helpful with directions and recommendations. They have bike rentals but costly since you have to rent all day. 17E. There is another place within walking distance. The breakfast is outstanding. They have a toaster. Even gluten free yogurt and corn flakes if you ask. The coffe is great and loved the courtyard patio. You can take 3 different tram lines from 3 blocks from here. Can walk to rinjzmuseum and van gogh etc. airport return tip : there is a bus 3 blocks away for 4 € pp to airport in 35 min. It's bus 197 same place you pick up trams to central station but opposite direction. Picnic tip: near the steihkin museum there is a huge grocery store underground (you take an escalator down) to pick up salads, yogurts and gluten free bread even and sporks to have picnic on the lovely park that overlooks the Rijksmuseum and van goth . Bike tip: if you want to ride go early in the morning before people are out. And head to the vondelpark closeby and be sure to drive through the cool new trail thru museum.

Room Tip: I imagine hotter in upper attic rooms. We were on floor 2 and hot enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights recently. The hotel is in an older building with a nice garden.The room we stayed in wasn't large but adequate. Tall ceilings but with a cramped area around the bed so two people couldn't pass by at once but this is an old building and like London, space is not abundant. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable, we slept well. Furnishings are old and worn so don't expect fancy furniture, an old tv with all the channels and a mini fridge are available. No tea and coffee, which for the price is a bit stingy. I had to ask for some glasses to drink from and pick them up from reception, glasses should be standard issue. The location is terrific, near to the museums and transport and loads of restaurants. Easy access by bus to and from the airport. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room was kept nice and clean. All in all I would recommend the hotel for reasonable value for Amsterdam which is great city. Some tips:
1.Beware of pick pockets in Amsterdam. 2. get a bike 3. Eat fries 4. Great coffee at brewmasters around the corner 5 Take the bus (197)) from Leidesplein to and from the airport, cheap and fast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.