We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, friendly staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
“Cosy, friendly staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First thing I noticed when I arrived at this hotel was the service of the staff. A very friendly and helpfull asian-looking man asked if this was my first time in Amsterdam and advised me many good places to visit here. I enjoyed my stay over here and the location is quite central. Definitely a place to go back to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    102
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
43
97
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great hotel located on a quiet street very close to Leidesplein, the restaurant and nightlife area of Amsterdam. Very close to tram lines and to Vondel Park. Also an easy walk to the museum district (Van Gogh and Rijks).

Staff are very nice and willing to help with whatever you need.

Rooms are small but nice, relatively quiet at night. Our double room was cozy. No air conditioning, but the room did have a fan, and a small fridge that were both appreciated. The bathroom was nice, but tall people may have to bend over to fit in the shower.

Elevators to not go all the way up the the 3rd floor, so some stairs required.

Shuttle to the airport (4 euros) is about 1 block away and leaves every 15 minutes or so.

Breakfast was average for euro hotels. We stayed here as part of a Rick Steves tour. Most of our tour group also liked this hotel.

I would not hesitate to stay in this area or at this hotel again. I would not call this place luxurious, but it is a great launching pad for exploration of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Alexander is located close to all the leidseplein action, in a lovely quiet street. A 2 min walk will take you to the bustling Leidseplein square with plenty of bars and street side dining. At the square you can also take the tram to Dam square, centraal station and museumplein. The airport bus no 197 also stops at Leidseplein so you're really well connected.
Hotel is a charming old red brick building, typical of Amsterdam. It's tall and narrow with crooked and steep stairs. quirky! There is an elevator that stops at every other floor.
The room was really tiny and cramped, but that too seems to be typical for Amsterdam hotels. We were prepared for a small room, but were surprised by how small! For 2 people we were constantly bumping into each other, hardly any space around the bed. Sheets and towels were old but clean. The furnishing was really worn and needs refurbishing. Bed was hard, but we slept well enough.
The reception is really charming and warm, and the desk staff were very helpful with recommendations and directions.
Would stay here again only for the location. The price is a bit steep for the cramped rooms.

Amsterdam travel tip: buy a holland pass or an Amsterdam card as soon as you land in the airport. You can choose a package that gives you free airport or city transport, as well as a good deal on city tours, countryside tous and museum visits.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights during an unusual warm spell. They had a oscillating fan in the room that was wonderful for sleeping and creating white noise. The beds were comfortable and we had a mini fridge that came in handy. The room is very small but to be expected in large city. There is a lift every other floor. The help at the desk was excellent for everyone that worked there. Very helpful with directions and recommendations. They have bike rentals but costly since you have to rent all day. 17E. There is another place within walking distance. The breakfast is outstanding. They have a toaster. Even gluten free yogurt and corn flakes if you ask. The coffe is great and loved the courtyard patio. You can take 3 different tram lines from 3 blocks from here. Can walk to rinjzmuseum and van gogh etc. airport return tip : there is a bus 3 blocks away for 4 € pp to airport in 35 min. It's bus 197 same place you pick up trams to central station but opposite direction. Picnic tip: near the steihkin museum there is a huge grocery store underground (you take an escalator down) to pick up salads, yogurts and gluten free bread even and sporks to have picnic on the lovely park that overlooks the Rijksmuseum and van goth . Bike tip: if you want to ride go early in the morning before people are out. And head to the vondelpark closeby and be sure to drive through the cool new trail thru museum.

Room Tip: I imagine hotter in upper attic rooms. We were on floor 2 and hot enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights recently. The hotel is in an older building with a nice garden.The room we stayed in wasn't large but adequate. Tall ceilings but with a cramped area around the bed so two people couldn't pass by at once but this is an old building and like London, space is not abundant. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable, we slept well. Furnishings are old and worn so don't expect fancy furniture, an old tv with all the channels and a mini fridge are available. No tea and coffee, which for the price is a bit stingy. I had to ask for some glasses to drink from and pick them up from reception, glasses should be standard issue. The location is terrific, near to the museums and transport and loads of restaurants. Easy access by bus to and from the airport. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the room was kept nice and clean. All in all I would recommend the hotel for reasonable value for Amsterdam which is great city. Some tips:
1.Beware of pick pockets in Amsterdam. 2. get a bike 3. Eat fries 4. Great coffee at brewmasters around the corner 5 Take the bus (197)) from Leidesplein to and from the airport, cheap and fast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Unfortunately, the cons outweigh the pros. The pros include the location (close to the Leidesplein with its shopping and restaurants) the lovely lobby and courtyard, and the outstanding staff. The cons include the unreliable wi-fi (particularly annoying for a business traveler), towels that, although clean, appear to be relics from the 1960's, and the fact that the lift actually stops in between floors. This means that you will be heaving your luggage up and down at least seven steep stairs; or, if like me. you are on the top floor, you will be lugging up and down a very steep 14 steps. Add to that the flight of seven to get in the front door, and you see the point of my title. If you are young and fit, with a strong back and no need for wi-fi, this may be the place for you. Also, Rick Steves' photographer stayed there while I was there, so what do I know?!?

Room Tip: Top floor for fitness buffs, only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. We did not try the breakfast, but it looked very nice. What we really appreciated was the hotel staff's help and advice on how to get around Amsterdam to see all the sites.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back side of the hotel and was very quiet, even with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.