We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only 3 stars because of the location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only 3 stars because of the location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

You only want to live at this hotel because of the good location near Leidseplein - not if you want a hotel with a good standard. The hotel is in itself not worth the price. I had a very small single room, a bad bed, not very clean room, and I had to tell the receptionist that shampoo and shower gel was missing!
Walls must be thin as I could easily hear guests talking from the other rooms.
The female receptionist was not very helpful, and she didn't even live in Amsterdam....

Just be sure to check out other hotels in the area before you decide for hotel Alexander.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    85
    39
    14
    5
See reviews for
42
87
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have spent one night during PLMA. Hotel location is good very central. Price were high for the quality given.
Rooms were dirty , towels were not clean and bathroom was dirty.
Room Key was problematic and I had to go up and down to open the door.

The people working in the reception were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: In case your room is in the last floor check if the door key is functionning properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel, had a room with 4 beds, for our whole family. The room was just under the reception/breakfast area, so we heard every step above us early morning. the breakfast was excellent, i missed the eggs thou. the staff is really friendly, and helpful, and speak almost all languages:) there is free wifi. the hotel is located in a quiet street, but just at the corner you have already the city center. at the other end of the street you have the museum quartier, and also the area with a lot of restaurants. i would return to the hotel, and would recommend it to my family and friends also.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter than the ones below the entrance level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Alexander hotel for three nights. Very friendly reception and service at it's best at all times. Good recommodations, perfectly located in the centre and rooms of reasonable size but very comfortable. Good price considering the season and location, would definitely go back some time! ps. Keukenhof Flowerfields was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Well managed hotel. We had room at the very top and elevator did not reach there, thus we lugged our luggage through the last flight of steps. The attic rooms are small but well kept and all amenities worked. Free wifi worked well in our room. The continental buffet breakfast with lots to choose from. For the price compared to other compatible hotel the Alexander Hotel is well worth it. Easy transportation, both bus and tram, from Centraal Station.

Room Tip: No elevator reach attic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

staffs were great and friendly, checkin was fast, wifi worked well, location was amazing! close to many things by walk or by tram. There's breakfast for 10 Euros with lots of choices (buffet), so it's also worth it! Hotel was clean and comfy! Can't complain a bit! there is a lift to room.

I was there during hectic hours: queensday, and needed a cab to go to the airport, the reception helped me, and everything went super smooth!

LOVE my stay here, and will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotels in Amsterdam are ridiculously expensive, so we trusted Tripadvisor and chose Alexander Hotel mainly for affordability and location near to Leidsplein and the city centre. The staff are very nice and helpful, but the rooms are quite small, without a proper wardrobe or storage, the furniture and carpet look old and tired. Our room was on the top floor, that the lift does not reach, so we had to carry our baggage up a steep flight of stairs. Being right under the roof, the ceiling was low and in the bathroom we actually had to duck under the shower. We never had breakfast in the hotel so can't really comment, but casting an eye on it we never felt we were missing something. Considering all those pros and cons, if we visit Amsterdam again we will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.