We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have spent one night during PLMA. Hotel location is good very central. Price were high for the quality given.
Rooms were dirty , towels were not clean and bathroom was dirty.
Room Key was problematic and I had to go up and down to open the door.

The people working in the reception were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: In case your room is in the last floor check if the door key is functionning properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    110
    45
    15
    7
See reviews for
43
103
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
budapest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel, had a room with 4 beds, for our whole family. The room was just under the reception/breakfast area, so we heard every step above us early morning. the breakfast was excellent, i missed the eggs thou. the staff is really friendly, and helpful, and speak almost all languages:) there is free wifi. the hotel is located in a quiet street, but just at the corner you have already the city center. at the other end of the street you have the museum quartier, and also the area with a lot of restaurants. i would return to the hotel, and would recommend it to my family and friends also.

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter than the ones below the entrance level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Alexander hotel for three nights. Very friendly reception and service at it's best at all times. Good recommodations, perfectly located in the centre and rooms of reasonable size but very comfortable. Good price considering the season and location, would definitely go back some time! ps. Keukenhof Flowerfields was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Well managed hotel. We had room at the very top and elevator did not reach there, thus we lugged our luggage through the last flight of steps. The attic rooms are small but well kept and all amenities worked. Free wifi worked well in our room. The continental buffet breakfast with lots to choose from. For the price compared to other compatible hotel the Alexander Hotel is well worth it. Easy transportation, both bus and tram, from Centraal Station.

Room Tip: No elevator reach attic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

staffs were great and friendly, checkin was fast, wifi worked well, location was amazing! close to many things by walk or by tram. There's breakfast for 10 Euros with lots of choices (buffet), so it's also worth it! Hotel was clean and comfy! Can't complain a bit! there is a lift to room.

I was there during hectic hours: queensday, and needed a cab to go to the airport, the reception helped me, and everything went super smooth!

LOVE my stay here, and will stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotels in Amsterdam are ridiculously expensive, so we trusted Tripadvisor and chose Alexander Hotel mainly for affordability and location near to Leidsplein and the city centre. The staff are very nice and helpful, but the rooms are quite small, without a proper wardrobe or storage, the furniture and carpet look old and tired. Our room was on the top floor, that the lift does not reach, so we had to carry our baggage up a steep flight of stairs. Being right under the roof, the ceiling was low and in the bathroom we actually had to duck under the shower. We never had breakfast in the hotel so can't really comment, but casting an eye on it we never felt we were missing something. Considering all those pros and cons, if we visit Amsterdam again we will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A very comfortable hotel with helpful staff and good beds. Difficult to beat in this area, under £100 per night.
The breakfast was plentiful and good quality. We were woken up by birds singing, that is not a problem, lovely

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.