We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, Amsterdam 1054 GE, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We where just there for one night so quite a short stay.
Our room was very clean. the staff was sooo friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was good and the hotel is very close to the center.
I would book it again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    80
    39
    12
    3
See reviews for
38
77
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape town
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just want to confirm the other reviews and add that it doesnt feel like one is staying in a huge city but it is still near enough to everything to walk or go to restaurants , supermqarkets ,etc. The staff is very accomodating upgrading our room. We even had take away pizzas in the lounge .Breakfast was bonus as most other hotels charge extra. best deal if your exchange rate is so bad as ZAR.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I were in Amsterdam for four nights, we felt really at home at the Alexander hotel. We had room 31, which was a nice room (very decent size for Amsterdam standards), a nice bathroom and it was very clean!!

We were able to walk to all interesting locations, I think 35 minutes was the longest walk from the hotel and then we are already on the other side of Amsterdam centre, so actually nothing is further away than half an hour walking. Amsterdam is a great and beautiful city!! Visit and stay at Hotel Alexander.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Ohio
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Really kind staff, perfect location, good rates, just as it should be! I found this hotel on Booking.com, but called the hotel because I donot have a credit card. It turned out that they provide a better rate as well when you book with them directly, so it worked out great for me, i would definitely reccommend this hotel to any other visitors to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, Amsterdam 1054 GE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.