We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The location of this hotel was just perfect where everything was pretty much within walking distance. The hotel room size and bathroom was big. The 3 of us didnt have any issues with our space in the shared room.

But the breakfast was so so but it really didnt matter as the comfort of the room was just right.

Room Tip: In Amsterdam you need to bring your own kettle for hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    135
    56
    15
    7
See reviews for
54
118
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed there 3 nights lately.Reception run by two brothers who were very helpful.Rooms were a bit small but very clean and modern.We were in room 30 which was at the top.You can get a lift up to level two and have to carry the rest,about a dozen steps which are steep.No problem if you are young and fit. I,m sure if you coudnt manage the steps one of the lovely guys on reception would help you.To get into amsterdam central we found it best to go by tram.About five minutes from hotel and use the number 1 2 or 5 trams.A day ticket is about 7 euros and you can jump on/off whenever. Lots of places localy for eating drinking. Overall a lovely small hotel and would go back.

Room Tip: A lovely hotel just 10 minutes from city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a clean, friendly, charming hotel in a great location. I would go back, and I would recommend it to friends. Tony and his staff were wonderful, extremely welcoming and helpful. I was sad I could only stay 2 nights. The rooms are simple, but the bathroom was modern and clean. The breakfast was great and the balcony was a nice spot to enjoy it. The only downside for me was that there were a group of people talking on the balcony late into the night. While they weren't talking loudly, the sound really carried up to the room, with window open or closed, and was noticeable during the quiet of the night. The noise stopped when I called the desk, but started up again later in the early morning hours. On the upside, I spoke to Tony and his staff the next day and never heard a peep the following night. I can't imagine a friendlier place. Best of luck to Tony and his staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Location was very central, nice staff, nice breakfast, not included though, but worth the money,

My room was a bit small, but that wasnt a problem for me, i spent most of my time in the beautiful city center!!

Room Tip: you will love Amsterdam!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was perfect, service was really nice, a small family owned hotel (two brothers at the reception), location was quiet yet very central and prices were very acceptable. Hotel advised us to book directly with them in the future for best prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Simple but very clean rooms and friendly staff at very affordable prices just a stone throw away from Leidseplein and the Centre of Amsterdam, a great find and a place to return to, time and time again, we will!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are better, you can walk out into the garden & sit on the terrace till late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent - Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We got a good deal to stay at this 3 star hotel. The Alexander hotel is close to the Leidseplein & the main shopping streets. The hotel also offers free wi-fi, and plenty of restaurants are available in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.