We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair deal and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Hotel to your Saves list
Alexander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
buenos aires
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“fair deal and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We took two rooms just for one night, as we were on a stop-over in Amsterdam. Having read previous reviews, I asked for rooms in the upper floors to make sure we were not given the ones downstairs, almost basement. Good thing we did, the rooms were two floors up, very quiet, tiny but fine for our purpose. As we were staying just for one night, we were happy to have left our luggage at the airport as there is no lift to go up to the rooms.

Bathroom was clean, shower hot, and the night staff that welcomed us that night was friendly and helpful. They recommended a good place to eat dutch dishes in the very nearby Liedseplein area (just 2 to 3 blocks away), called The Pantry. In the morning we had just a little time to walk around which the location of the hotel allowed for perfectly.

Breakfast was not included in our rate and too expensive for what I saw they offered for euro 10 per person.

All in all, a fair deal and very well located.

Room Tip: ask to be placed at least one flight up the lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    102
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
43
96
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at the Alexander in January 2012 because we wished to be within easy reach of;
key museums, places to eat, tramway connections, pleasant walks and shopping.
(Trams 1, 2 and 5 from Central Station to Leidseplein and then a five minute walk)
The hotel is on a quiet street in the museum area. There's a park nearby with it's cafe.A great area to walk or ride a hired bike through towards the Van Gogh museum and beyond.
The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful in all ways, recommending good eateries etc.
They gave us early access to a room giving us time for a rest after our journey before we set off on our visits. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and a good size for the two of us.There is a lift to all floors. The buffet breakfast was sound and would suit most tastes.
A really pleasant, quiet hotel near everything that's 'Amsterdam' at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Alexander is very nice hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. My husband and I have arrived few hours earlier of check-in time and they have been keeping our belongings in a security room as long as we wanted. The same service we had on our departure day.
The location is excellent (just behind Marriott Hotel): easy to get to from the airport (bus #197), 5-7minutes from the city centre. Museums, restaurants/café area are within walking distance; the Canal Cruise Tours stop -5minutes away. The street is quite and beautiful.
Very clean warm rooms, very well ventilated, good shower (no probs with hot water).
I would recommend this hotel as a best value!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New jersey
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights with a ETBD tour. Room 28 top floor, no elevator to this floor. Room was clean, quiet with a large bathroom. We had a good view of the courtyard and the resident parrots. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel is on a quiet (for Amsterdam) sidestreet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My two friends and I stayed in a triple room in the Hotel Alexander in October. It was fantastic! Our room was lovely and the service could not have been better. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, making personal recommendations for sight-seeing, shopping, restaurants and jazz venues. The Hotel was perfectly located within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends, and we plan to go there again ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Stayed three nights in November, booked a triple room for my husband teenage son and my self, we were put in a basement room that was very cramped and airless there was very little natural light and if you opened the window it was extremely noisy. It was more like staying in a hostel that a hotel- very bad level of service. Staff were dismissive of our complaints about the room and stated as we had booked late and you get what you pay for! We had a great time in Amsterdam and will go back but will never stay in this hotel again. It is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your room. You have booked your room quite last-minute, that was the only room available and because of the room being in our Soutterain level (half basement), we offered this room for a very interesting and low rate.

During your stay we did our very best to find an alternative for you, but did not succeed unfortunately, our staff is definitely not dismissive, we have explained you the situation clearly and did our very best to help you.

Our apologies again, thank you for being understanding towards us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hotel was clean and comfortable, but the size of our room was tiny...hardly room to move around. We did ask for a larger room but were told the hotel was too full. I would recommend the location...close to restaurants, bars, and great shopping on the '9 streets'. Maybe the 'Vondel " down the street has bigger rooms....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.