We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Brabantse Aap

De Brabantse Aap
Spui 30, 1012 XA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
20 6225110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,097 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Delicious homemade pea soup, tasty house-brewed beers (a must!). Our favorite was the "white" beer. Friendly, quick service and lively atmosphere.The seats in glass room on street side are a good location for watching the bypassing trams and people. On way out took this pic of the busy cook silhouette in kitchen window upstairs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    18
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good for people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Found this place by accident. Got a table in the conservatory overlooking the street and spent a few hours in here people watching. Drinks arrived promptly, the menu is not in English but our waitress told us the range of panini's that we wanted to eat. I had a tuna and cheese one which was delicious and we shared a portion of chips and mayo which were just heavenly! Not too expensive and I would visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great for beer-lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place is excellent for beer-lovers. It not only has a wide and constantly changing range of good beers on draught, the view in part of the pub is great, overlooking the Spui and towards the University Library, with trams floating by. Food is good, plates are large and the servers are always happy to advise on beer and food choices.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place for brunch on a sunday afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Found this place while on a sunday walk through the centre of the city.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the place has a nice relaxed feel about it. People of all age groups were dining with a good menu to choose from (split into pre and post 5pm).

We just had a simple onion soup (very good) and club sandwiches with coffee. The location is close to a small art market and a great place to watch the trams and the world go by.

Would recommend it to anyone in amsterdam for a relaxing and good value meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panevezys, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place for a beer or a snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's not the first time I come here when in Amsterdam and I really like the place, and the beer and the location the cafe is situated in. I love sitting in the glass-walled porch and watching people pass by or sitting inside the cafe on the high stools and watching the storm outside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Brabantse Aap also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Brabantse Aap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Brabantse Aap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.