We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find the keycode for the toilet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starbucks

Starbucks
Stationsplein 15 | Station Amsterdam Centraal, 1012 AB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,368 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Find the keycode for the toilet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great coffee, standard fare for Starbucks and quite slow to produce the coffee but on the way back to our hotel so we stopped to use the facilities!
Must be what a lot of people do, as you cannot enter the toilets without getting a keycode that is printed on your reciept.
The keycode buttons are tiny buttons on the door handle, not easy to find when you are in a hurry.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Be fair they are consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was delighted to be able to walk into Starbucks at Damrack 92, on a Sunday morning at 7am. To be greeted by cheerful friendly staff and get exactly what I wanted quickly was perfect. The space in the restaurant was nicely decorated and my phone wi-fi was fast. What more can you ask for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Starbuck go away and pay some TAX”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Amsterdam was great ! no big names dominating the high st, 3 Starbucks open in the last 3 months and there will be more, shame but reality.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Expensive coffee but different room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It is a shame to see Amsterdam accept Starbucks. We went to the one on Rembrandtplein. The interior design was very good and like nothing I had seen from a Starbucks. To be true the only reason we went was to go and see the interior as we had heard about the Dutch design from a friend. Worth a pop in but not for coffee.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Try Dutch next time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

In the country that invented the 'coffee shop' in the 17/18th century (not the 'coffee shop' of recent times peddling soft drugs to foreign teenagers) it seems almost tragic to see the spread of the bland entity that is Starbucks coffee. Truth is, while most Americans revere 'proper' American coffee, to European taste it is like drinking bilge-water. The cult of Starbucks in Europe is centred in The Netherlands due to advantageous tax-breaks offered to huge multinational faceless entities like this. However, until recently the Dutch politely eschewed the Starbucksisation of coffee in favour of decent stuff... This store in central Amsterdam is typical of the slow, steady spread into the tourist enclaves of this fine old city. I urge you to pass them by in favour of a 'real' cup Dutch coffee. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starbucks also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Starbucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starbucks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.