We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5* room, 1* breakfast, 5* service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“4.5* room, 1* breakfast, 5* service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We arrived 3 hours before check in time, plan was to wander the streets but the weather was horrible. Surprisingly, they had a room for us and no issue checking us in. Very very happy with this.

We were told our room had been upgraded. Don't know if this is true, but the room (room 125) was amazing. Spacious room, large bathroom, lovely walk in shower, good air con and a very comfy bed. Slightly dusty but otherwise not a single complaint. Wifi in room a little weak but worked nearly all the time. No tea or coffee facilities in room but are served free in reception.

The room was a little noisy, but with a location so central, it's to be expected. We could hear noise from the streets, but we were not disturbed as such.

Having been so impressed by the room, breakfast was a shock. Cooked options were boiled eggs, scrambled eggs (dry and burnt!), salty soggy horrible bacon and beans - very limited. Continental options were pretty poor too, except for the fresh bread. There was low quality regular bread too, but no toaster. The juices were nice and staff friendly.

Checkout was very efficient, and we were pleasantly surprised to have baggage storage free of charge for last day. Proved extremely useful. Standard checkout time of 12pm also handy.

Would return for sure, just hope breakfast is improved.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    508
    237
    85
    52
See reviews for
124
443
131
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The experience was OK, but for the amount of money I paid it was too expensive. Rooms and bathroom facilities are nice, but they don't clean the room as they should and they often forget to replace soap and shower gel and all that. Staff was friendly but not that knowledgeable and location could be better. Breakfast was OK, but you could only choose from an omelet, bacon, beans. TV had BBC and other international channels so that was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is about a 6 minute walk from the train station, which is perfect if you are coming from the airport. The hotel staff was SO friendly, especially the gentleman who keeps the breakfast items stocked he did a really great job. It is in a well known area and actually very quiet at night! The rooms had AC, free wifi, were the typical european size. There was an elevator as well. The breakfast was very good and they were always bringing out fresh croissants and offering them to people! There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel but we didn't eat there so I have no comment on that. Overall I highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

After a warm welcome we checked in and were given a room with a view of central station, how lucky we were. The room is very modern but still has original features of the old building. Nice combination.

If you miss for example towels, they bring it to you very quickly. The service is great.

We definitely recommend the breakfast too, look for specials which include breakfast.

Checking out is as warm as checking in and they facilitate a very professional luggage storage after checking out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed there for 4nights, the staff was really nice and helpfull. The room was single though had a double bed which was not really common when searching (of course with my budget). The breakfast was not perfect but very good and coffee was perfect!!! The room was very clean, though there could be a shelf or something above the sink in the bathroom for toothbrush and stuff. It is really close to the central station as stated and in a 15 minute walk radius has several things to see and do. I would definitely choose it again in my next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Plus
Excellent position very close to the railway station and 15min far from Schilpol airport.
5min walk to Dam square.
Restyled some month ago, cleanfull
Free wi-fi

Minus
The accomodation wasn't in line for the reservation and the price.
We were reserved a room on the main floor, near the public bathroom and behind a door which divided the long room pathwalk from the public area.
Moreover, other noise all around: elevators, external air-conditioning engines, hotel restaurant on the lower floor.
We are a young couple and we have not problem in sleeping...but this time it was very difficult !
The room was very small, it was difficult moving around.
There was not refrigerators and the bath furnitures were very very poor !

I always travel with Ibis and that was the first time a was dissatisfied.

Room Tip: Do not accept rooms on the main floor near the public area ! Less noises in rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Address: Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, HotelsNL, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.