We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the worst experiences, almost ruined my week-end” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“one of the worst experiences, almost ruined my week-end”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Such a nicely located hotel and I had one of my worst experiences ever, almost ruined my week-end. For a two-day reserve they just forgot to honour the reserve for the first night, eventhough they were warned about my (me and family, with kids) late arrival. Fortunately I carried all the paperwork with me but they could not honour my reservation and we had to sleep in the small hotel lobby. They did found the two rooms for the 2nd night but no decent compensation was given for the first night without rooms. Terrible! At the check out, they did not let us stay for an extra 3 hours, despite all that happened at checking-in...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    501
    229
    83
    52
See reviews for
117
439
126
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

very friendly staff, free cofee machine in reception. breakfast needs to improved.very close to central station and close to dam square n madamme tussauds.rooms are really small. rooms are over priced and city tax extra.. we stayed for 2 nites...very close to canal.very close to arabic and other eatouts in the near lane.highly recommendable for tourists and short stay

Room Tip: to get the best deal.book via booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goirle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

How dare IBIS to charge for 1 single room € 299,00 exclusive € 19.69 city tax, a room so mall you hardly can move, really disgusting, awfull breakfast and wifi that did not work !!!! Don't book it, go somewhere else !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guarapari, ES
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We walked easily from the train station to the hotel.The accommodations are correct and well cared for, breakfast is varied.
Within walking distance there is the starting point of the bus hop-on hop-off and several points of embarkation for cruise through the canals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed there 3 nights with my boyfriend for a long weekend. The hotel is in a very good central location so you can walk to most places if you don't fancy cycling. I found it hard to spot initially as it's next to some pubs with rather big canopies, but it's literately across the road from the central station. The room was tiny - you could barely move without stumbling on your suitcase. However, it was very modern, tidy and very clean. I would post a photo but it looks exactly like the rooms in the hotel's official photos. It was cleaned and tidied every day. The bathroom/wet room was spotless even though there was not too much space for our stuff. Water was ok in the shower but a few times fluctuated from warm to cold. Breakfast was continental style and delicious - never out of anything either! Very stylish hotel, good service from the staff and secure baggage storage available. Overall I am very happy with my stay but next time I would opt for somewhere less claustrophobic and a view (we had a view of the light well).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend trip to Amsterdam and mainly chose it due to the convenient location. We arrived by plane and then took the train to Amsterdam Centraal train station - the hotel is just across the road from there and it takes literally a couple of minutes to get there. From the hotel you can easily walk everywhere in the centre of Amsterdam (Dam Square, Anne Frank House, shopping area, restaurants...).

The room was probably the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in but as we stayed only for one night and had already read about the size of the rooms on TripAdvisor, we knew what to expect and did not mind too much. The design of the room was very nice and modern and the furniture was new. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable (a choice of firm and soft pillows would have been an advantage though!). I did not really like the bathroom as there was not much space for putting down any toiletries. The shower did not have any shower tray resulting in the entire bathroom floor being wet after your shower. We had a room on the second floor which was located inside the building with a window facing a small shaft - the advantage was that we did not hear any traffic noise but you could hear every noise from the corridor.

We had breakfast booked and were told that breakfast was until 11am. When we turned up at the breakfast room at 10.30am, the breakfast buffet had already been cleared away...there were only a couple of packages with jam, some slices of cheese and ham and some cereals left and the staff was busy cleaning trays in the kitchen next door (not the nicest background noise you can possibly have while you would like to enjoy your breakfast). I double-checked with the waiter until what time breakfast was served - he confirmed that it was until 11am but apparently they had a big group for breakfast earlier that morning and "assumed no one else would turn up" (??). Eventually, we could help ourselves to some hot beverages from the machine and were given a plate with some slices of toast on it. Not really what you expect from a hotel breakfast! To my mind it is quite a bit unprofessional to clear the breakfast buffet before breakfast time is officially over. For us breakfast was very basic and we haven't seen any of the croissants, fruits and hot items that were supposed to be included.

All in all, the hotel was ok but considering the rate was around 180 Euros on that day, the service was rather disappointing! If you charge a premium rate for an economy hotel product, you should at least offer a premium service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, which is a good thing. You can get to most places by walking. We got there before check-in time and they kept our bags for us since the room wasn't ready. We went sightseeing and came back and everything was ready for us. The rooms are small, but most are in Europe. The breakfast had a variety of options including a hot beverage machine that was included in the room price. Checkout was a breeze. Overall, if you are there for reason other than being cooped up in a room, it's a great price for the location with friendly staff. Will stay again if we are ever back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Address: Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.