We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD EXPERIENCE IN AMSTERDAM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Save Saved
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% Discount
Ranked #154 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Guarapari, ES
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“GOOD EXPERIENCE IN AMSTERDAM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We walked easily from the train station to the hotel.The accommodations are correct and well cared for, breakfast is varied.
Within walking distance there is the starting point of the bus hop-on hop-off and several points of embarkation for cruise through the canals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    395
    168
    62
    41
See reviews for
85
341
109
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed there 3 nights with my boyfriend for a long weekend. The hotel is in a very good central location so you can walk to most places if you don't fancy cycling. I found it hard to spot initially as it's next to some pubs with rather big canopies, but it's literately across the road from the central station. The room was tiny - you could barely move without stumbling on your suitcase. However, it was very modern, tidy and very clean. I would post a photo but it looks exactly like the rooms in the hotel's official photos. It was cleaned and tidied every day. The bathroom/wet room was spotless even though there was not too much space for our stuff. Water was ok in the shower but a few times fluctuated from warm to cold. Breakfast was continental style and delicious - never out of anything either! Very stylish hotel, good service from the staff and secure baggage storage available. Overall I am very happy with my stay but next time I would opt for somewhere less claustrophobic and a view (we had a view of the light well).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend trip to Amsterdam and mainly chose it due to the convenient location. We arrived by plane and then took the train to Amsterdam Centraal train station - the hotel is just across the road from there and it takes literally a couple of minutes to get there. From the hotel you can easily walk everywhere in the centre of Amsterdam (Dam Square, Anne Frank House, shopping area, restaurants...).

The room was probably the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in but as we stayed only for one night and had already read about the size of the rooms on TripAdvisor, we knew what to expect and did not mind too much. The design of the room was very nice and modern and the furniture was new. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable (a choice of firm and soft pillows would have been an advantage though!). I did not really like the bathroom as there was not much space for putting down any toiletries. The shower did not have any shower tray resulting in the entire bathroom floor being wet after your shower. We had a room on the second floor which was located inside the building with a window facing a small shaft - the advantage was that we did not hear any traffic noise but you could hear every noise from the corridor.

We had breakfast booked and were told that breakfast was until 11am. When we turned up at the breakfast room at 10.30am, the breakfast buffet had already been cleared away...there were only a couple of packages with jam, some slices of cheese and ham and some cereals left and the staff was busy cleaning trays in the kitchen next door (not the nicest background noise you can possibly have while you would like to enjoy your breakfast). I double-checked with the waiter until what time breakfast was served - he confirmed that it was until 11am but apparently they had a big group for breakfast earlier that morning and "assumed no one else would turn up" (??). Eventually, we could help ourselves to some hot beverages from the machine and were given a plate with some slices of toast on it. Not really what you expect from a hotel breakfast! To my mind it is quite a bit unprofessional to clear the breakfast buffet before breakfast time is officially over. For us breakfast was very basic and we haven't seen any of the croissants, fruits and hot items that were supposed to be included.

All in all, the hotel was ok but considering the rate was around 180 Euros on that day, the service was rather disappointing! If you charge a premium rate for an economy hotel product, you should at least offer a premium service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, which is a good thing. You can get to most places by walking. We got there before check-in time and they kept our bags for us since the room wasn't ready. We went sightseeing and came back and everything was ready for us. The rooms are small, but most are in Europe. The breakfast had a variety of options including a hot beverage machine that was included in the room price. Checkout was a breeze. Overall, if you are there for reason other than being cooped up in a room, it's a great price for the location with friendly staff. Will stay again if we are ever back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night in this hotel, and I shared a double room with a colleague. I have to say, this was one of the smallest hotel rooms I have been to, almost claustrofobic. On top of this, the bathroom is also very minimalist (you have to be a contortionist to reach the toilet paper when using the WC), but, most of all, the shower floor was covered with mold (see picture).
If you think of the cost of the room, I find this unacceptable. My colleague was staying for more nights, and the price is different every night. The average cost of the room was 135 euros per night, but for one of the 5 nights she was having to stay the cost was over 300 euros!!!!!!!!
I would never stay there again... And if you plan to do so, prepare youself to shrink, enjoy the price and the mold!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If location to the train station is your main criteria then this is your place. The room was quite small but comfortable and pretty quiet. We had a room on the street side so there was some street noise but not too much. The safe in the room was not functional so they put our valuables in the hotel safe. Since there was a large convention in town we paid too much for the room. The breakfast is very average. Overall a decent place to stay but I would not rave a bout it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Address: Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Otel, HotelsNL, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.