We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a weekend stay in a convenient location, service leaves room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a weekend stay in a convenient location, service leaves room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a weekend trip to Amsterdam and mainly chose it due to the convenient location. We arrived by plane and then took the train to Amsterdam Centraal train station - the hotel is just across the road from there and it takes literally a couple of minutes to get there. From the hotel you can easily walk everywhere in the centre of Amsterdam (Dam Square, Anne Frank House, shopping area, restaurants...).

The room was probably the smallest hotel room we have ever stayed in but as we stayed only for one night and had already read about the size of the rooms on TripAdvisor, we knew what to expect and did not mind too much. The design of the room was very nice and modern and the furniture was new. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable (a choice of firm and soft pillows would have been an advantage though!). I did not really like the bathroom as there was not much space for putting down any toiletries. The shower did not have any shower tray resulting in the entire bathroom floor being wet after your shower. We had a room on the second floor which was located inside the building with a window facing a small shaft - the advantage was that we did not hear any traffic noise but you could hear every noise from the corridor.

We had breakfast booked and were told that breakfast was until 11am. When we turned up at the breakfast room at 10.30am, the breakfast buffet had already been cleared away...there were only a couple of packages with jam, some slices of cheese and ham and some cereals left and the staff was busy cleaning trays in the kitchen next door (not the nicest background noise you can possibly have while you would like to enjoy your breakfast). I double-checked with the waiter until what time breakfast was served - he confirmed that it was until 11am but apparently they had a big group for breakfast earlier that morning and "assumed no one else would turn up" (??). Eventually, we could help ourselves to some hot beverages from the machine and were given a plate with some slices of toast on it. Not really what you expect from a hotel breakfast! To my mind it is quite a bit unprofessional to clear the breakfast buffet before breakfast time is officially over. For us breakfast was very basic and we haven't seen any of the croissants, fruits and hot items that were supposed to be included.

All in all, the hotel was ok but considering the rate was around 180 Euros on that day, the service was rather disappointing! If you charge a premium rate for an economy hotel product, you should at least offer a premium service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    554
    255
    95
    54
See reviews for
138
482
140
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, which is a good thing. You can get to most places by walking. We got there before check-in time and they kept our bags for us since the room wasn't ready. We went sightseeing and came back and everything was ready for us. The rooms are small, but most are in Europe. The breakfast had a variety of options including a hot beverage machine that was included in the room price. Checkout was a breeze. Overall, if you are there for reason other than being cooped up in a room, it's a great price for the location with friendly staff. Will stay again if we are ever back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night in this hotel, and I shared a double room with a colleague. I have to say, this was one of the smallest hotel rooms I have been to, almost claustrofobic. On top of this, the bathroom is also very minimalist (you have to be a contortionist to reach the toilet paper when using the WC), but, most of all, the shower floor was covered with mold (see picture).
If you think of the cost of the room, I find this unacceptable. My colleague was staying for more nights, and the price is different every night. The average cost of the room was 135 euros per night, but for one of the 5 nights she was having to stay the cost was over 300 euros!!!!!!!!
I would never stay there again... And if you plan to do so, prepare youself to shrink, enjoy the price and the mold!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If location to the train station is your main criteria then this is your place. The room was quite small but comfortable and pretty quiet. We had a room on the street side so there was some street noise but not too much. The safe in the room was not functional so they put our valuables in the hotel safe. Since there was a large convention in town we paid too much for the room. The breakfast is very average. Overall a decent place to stay but I would not rave a bout it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This 3 star hotel is close to central station, trams and good places to eat. If you need anything the helpful staff are more than willing to help. Th breakfast include in the room rate was excellent. Overall great value.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back if you can, away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

One thing that stood out about this hotel was that you have to walk over an air bridge which crosses over the train tracks of the Centraal station which we found to be cool ! Being beside Amsterdam Centraal, it was very convenient to take any kind of public transportation - train, tram, taxi, canal boat. Overall, this is a very good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,248 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#119 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#215 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,059 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
#193 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Address: Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.