We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't given the quad room we booked, but unexpected free breakfast and rooms very comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Save Saved
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martelaarsgracht 10, Amsterdam 1012 TP, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% Discount
Ranked #162 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wasn't given the quad room we booked, but unexpected free breakfast and rooms very comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was being changed to an Ibis hotel at the time of our stay, so we were not given the quad room we booked. After questioning it twice, we were given free breakfasts (but maybe this was given to everyone!) The rooms were small but very comfy, and quiet. The hotel is in great location from the train station - although the 3456 zebra crossings make the walk a little longer! Staff were friendly. Pricey for what you get, but i guess this is Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    406
    171
    65
    42
See reviews for
84
334
107
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here with a friend between 14th January 2013 and 16th January 2013.

We arrived here from train station and it was simple to find, about five to ten minutes wandering walk to get to. Overall getting from airport to hotel was simple, just get the train from airport to central station and then over the bridge towards Dam Square.

Reception staff spoke excellent English and quickly checked us in, we got a twin room that was very compact next to the lifts on the top floor, we decided we would ask if we could change, as the beds were cosy to say the least. Reception staff were happy to help and moved us to another room, still on the top floor but around the corner and it was a little larger.

The room was clean and tidy and decorated in a modern style; it had en-suite shower room and had towels with good views of the river if we stood on tiptoe. The room also had a safe that was large enough for money, passports and cameras etc.

We only stayed for two nights but saw quite a few of the tourist attractions including Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Hermitage Museum, Sex Museum, The Amsterdam Dungeon, Nemo Science Centre, Het Scheepvaart Museum and took a riverboat cruise. We purchased the Amsterdam card, which on reflection was not worth it, as I do not think we used it enough to warrant the cost of £60 although it did include use of the trams, although we only used these once. Madame Tussauds and The Amsterdam Dungeon could be purchased at a reduced price together so I would recommend that.

The hotel was well placed for almost all of these attractions to walk, although it did snow which made it a necessity to wear a hat when we ventured out.

A last point, on Amsterdam in general rather than the hotel is that we found it quite expensive to buy food until we found sandwich cafes off the main tourist spots, so if you can get bed and breakfast then I would advise it as that would set you up well for the day. Oh and there is free Wi-Fi pretty much everywhere so saves on data usage on laptops and mobiles.

Room Tip: Top floor was good although away from lifts if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January 2013. First impressions of the room were that it was small and compact with two twin beds (not the most comfortable) There was a little wet room/bathroom off our room which was basic and had a low shelf which I cracked my head off more than once.

The hotel is literally across the (busy) road from central station and very central to the sights.

To me it reminded us of a chic little city room which was basic and all in all very suitable as a base for touring the city. It was clean and tidy and had a window opening into a little courtyard.

I would definitely visit this hotel again as it is value for money.

We paid to have breakfast in the little downstairs cafe and it was ok - not bad at all.

Love it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

+ves - Modern finishings, nice linens. Good features like free WIFI and a safe. Staff were good and professional. Location is convenient to train station (you can see it from the train station) - but on an uninteresting street.

-ves - The room is VERY small (a single) - but it was fine for me as I was only in Amsterdam for a 24 hour layover between trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was. Worst hotel I have ever stayed at! There was nothing that was a little decent even! Wouldn't recommend this for anyone at all. Rather sleep outside than this piece of crap!! Was a horrible experience thank god we checked out and went to a excellent hotel from this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel through the Easyjet website when we came to Amsterdam at the end of June.
We thought it was fairly priced, it is literally a minutes walk away from Central Station, and a 5 minute walk from the centre, we were in walking distance of everything we wanted to see.

The staff were friendly (even took a cheeky photo of me and the other half for us!), and even though check in wasnt until 2, they swapped our room over and checked us into a room which was ready when we turned up at 10:30am!

You get what you pay for, the bed was comfy, no bath (but not a biggy!) a free safe in the room and we had a lovely view of the thousands of bikes and part of the centre! Even though we were so close to the station, we didn't hear a thing, and hardly anything even with the windows open. We paid for breakfast, which wasn't amazing but filled us up! Sausages were very interesting ha. We only used it while we were waitingfor the next train to take us home, but there are computers in recepetion for usage of guests with free wifi :)

The only issue we faced was the price of the food and drinks which they have just inside the hotel, near the information desk - it was definitley cheaper to take a 2 minute stroll up the road to the local supermarket for snacks etc.

Would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again if I ever get the chance to visit Amserdam again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Address: Martelaarsgracht 10, Amsterdam 1012 TP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Otel, HotelsNL, Agoda, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.