We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 15% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #180 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here with a friend between 14th January 2013 and 16th January 2013.

We arrived here from train station and it was simple to find, about five to ten minutes wandering walk to get to. Overall getting from airport to hotel was simple, just get the train from airport to central station and then over the bridge towards Dam Square.

Reception staff spoke excellent English and quickly checked us in, we got a twin room that was very compact next to the lifts on the top floor, we decided we would ask if we could change, as the beds were cosy to say the least. Reception staff were happy to help and moved us to another room, still on the top floor but around the corner and it was a little larger.

The room was clean and tidy and decorated in a modern style; it had en-suite shower room and had towels with good views of the river if we stood on tiptoe. The room also had a safe that was large enough for money, passports and cameras etc.

We only stayed for two nights but saw quite a few of the tourist attractions including Anne Frank House, Madame Tussauds, Hermitage Museum, Sex Museum, The Amsterdam Dungeon, Nemo Science Centre, Het Scheepvaart Museum and took a riverboat cruise. We purchased the Amsterdam card, which on reflection was not worth it, as I do not think we used it enough to warrant the cost of £60 although it did include use of the trams, although we only used these once. Madame Tussauds and The Amsterdam Dungeon could be purchased at a reduced price together so I would recommend that.

The hotel was well placed for almost all of these attractions to walk, although it did snow which made it a necessity to wear a hat when we ventured out.

A last point, on Amsterdam in general rather than the hotel is that we found it quite expensive to buy food until we found sandwich cafes off the main tourist spots, so if you can get bed and breakfast then I would advise it as that would set you up well for the day. Oh and there is free Wi-Fi pretty much everywhere so saves on data usage on laptops and mobiles.

Room Tip: Top floor was good although away from lifts if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustSightSeeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Craigavon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January 2013. First impressions of the room were that it was small and compact with two twin beds (not the most comfortable) There was a little wet room/bathroom off our room which was basic and had a low shelf which I cracked my head off more than once.

The hotel is literally across the (busy) road from central station and very central to the sights.

To me it reminded us of a chic little city room which was basic and all in all very suitable as a base for touring the city. It was clean and tidy and had a window opening into a little courtyard.

I would definitely visit this hotel again as it is value for money.

We paid to have breakfast in the little downstairs cafe and it was ok - not bad at all.

Love it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabydollVonHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

+ves - Modern finishings, nice linens. Good features like free WIFI and a safe. Staff were good and professional. Location is convenient to train station (you can see it from the train station) - but on an uninteresting street.

-ves - The room is VERY small (a single) - but it was fine for me as I was only in Amsterdam for a 24 hour layover between trips.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlsg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Was. Worst hotel I have ever stayed at! There was nothing that was a little decent even! Wouldn't recommend this for anyone at all. Rather sleep outside than this piece of crap!! Was a horrible experience thank god we checked out and went to a excellent hotel from this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijeta84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel through the Easyjet website when we came to Amsterdam at the end of June.
We thought it was fairly priced, it is literally a minutes walk away from Central Station, and a 5 minute walk from the centre, we were in walking distance of everything we wanted to see.

The staff were friendly (even took a cheeky photo of me and the other half for us!), and even though check in wasnt until 2, they swapped our room over and checked us into a room which was ready when we turned up at 10:30am!

You get what you pay for, the bed was comfy, no bath (but not a biggy!) a free safe in the room and we had a lovely view of the thousands of bikes and part of the centre! Even though we were so close to the station, we didn't hear a thing, and hardly anything even with the windows open. We paid for breakfast, which wasn't amazing but filled us up! Sausages were very interesting ha. We only used it while we were waitingfor the next train to take us home, but there are computers in recepetion for usage of guests with free wifi :)

The only issue we faced was the price of the food and drinks which they have just inside the hotel, near the information desk - it was definitley cheaper to take a 2 minute stroll up the road to the local supermarket for snacks etc.

Would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again if I ever get the chance to visit Amserdam again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had booked a hotel elsewhere in Amsterdam; it was a dump so we found this hotel which is conveniently located, has nice amenities and a great staff. Room was clean, nice, and had a great view. Book here and use the public transportation to get around as it is very, very convenient. Only problem is finding your way around to floors 6 and up; you have to take the elevator to the 5th floor, walk across the skybridge to the other tower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonJonPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,610 reviews
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#193 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#127 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#126 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#60 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station

Address: Martelaarsgracht 10, 1012 TP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing