We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ok place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Good base for all the coffeeshops, shops, and bars on Haarlemstraat and beyond. clean rooms shower was great, breakfast was nice and good that breakfast is served until 12pm, staff were polite, only problem was the fire alarm woke us up and we wasnt informed it was a false alarm for 20mins (hope theres never a real fire). 10 mins from central station, 20 mins to dam sq, we thought the location was great.

Room Tip: If the bridge barrier is down, just crawl underneath it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear NikManchester,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us as we love getting feedback from our guests! I am happy you enjoyed your time staying with us. We don't believe in having to set your alarm to make it to breakfast, so it is great to know you appreciated our breakfast being served until noon.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and I hope we may welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels!

Kindest regards from all the team,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    455
    95
    24
    9
See reviews for
150
714
44
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we were extremely pleased with the quality of this hotel. On initial arrival the reception staff warmly greeted us and were more than helpful throughout the stay.
The hotel itself is a short 5-10 minute walk to Centraal Station and from there it is another 10 minute walk to Dam square. However if you don't fancy the walk down to Dam square, trams are located at Centraal Station and are easily accessible to get to your location of choice.
We stayed in a room overlooking the harbour, with fantastic views over Amsterdam. We were impressed by the spacious, modern room with a king sized bed, huge shower, mini fridge, LG TV and many bits and bobs that made the stay more comfortable. On some of the floors there is an ice machine. The hotel also offers free WIFI which is a plus.
Breakfast was part of the price we originally paid; there was a large variety of foods available to suit all needs. The chef cooked your eggs to your liking also. It was very busy in the breakfast room on the Saturday of our stay at around 9am and was difficult to get a table, however on the other days it was much easier.
We ate in the restaurant Idock on one of the nights as we had been given a voucher from the reception for an offer; there wasn't a lot of choice on the menu but the food we did eat was delicious.
All in all we enjoyed staying at this modern hotel and we would definitely recommend this to anybody who wants a modern and different hotel to your run of your mill budget hotels, for a decent and reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Hotel was very clean with friendly staff throughout, we moved rooms at a slight charge due to the one side of the hotel overlooking apartments, we moved rooms to a higher floor and on the opposite side which overlooked the small marina and parts of the city.
We didn't use the restaurant, the menu appeared a little expensive though. The one negative factor for us was the distance from the 'tourist' area, around a 15 minute walk to the first street. If you could pick the hotel up and move it closer it would be ideal, a taxi costs around 8 euros to the tourist area and train station.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the marina on a high floor facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Overall look of the hotel has a wow factor but the bubble burst when you got inside the room. The main door and the bathroom and cupboard doors were badly designed. There was no shelving or drawer space in the bathroom and the lighting in the room was impractical. Unexpected fire alarm at approx 2am was chaotic and it took management too long to make the official announcement that it was a false alarm. Stairs led to the 2nd floor so guests were unable to get out of the building except by the fire exit which for some was locked. We found the location was extremely good for us and desk staff although busy were extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Reasonable close to the restaurants and public transport to get us to the museums
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Helen B,

Thank you for your stay at Room Mate Aitana and for sharing your feedback with us. Although you had an enjoyable stay appreciating the location, you do point out some things we can improve, and I would like to thank you for that!
Indeed we had an unexpected fire alarm that one night, much to the discomfort of our guests. This ultimately was the result of a technical issue in one of the smoke detectors which could not easily be fixed, during which time the alarm could not be turned off. I would like to stress that at no times were any fire exits blocked. We noticed some of our guests going back inside through the exits, thereby blocking the way for exiting guests and thereby creating confusion, but at no times were any of the exits blocked!

We will take your comments to heart, and hope we may welcome you back soon so you can experience our hotel the way we intend it to be.

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights early August. Mixed feelings about the hotel but with changes, it has potential to be a great hotel.

Tip: Don't take cabs in Amsterdam, they are known to be the most expensive in Europe and its unregulated. If you must, get the hotel to arrange it for you as they might have connections that won't rip you off. Take the train to and from the airport, it's a lot cheaper.

Pros
- The rooms are very large for European rooms- even the standard rooms.
- It is very modern looking.
- There is a bus stop right across from the hotel.
- It is a new hotel.
- It is on the water.
- Beautiful views.
- Wifi is good on the 3rd floor
- Gave us maps when we checked in

Cons
- Rolling large luggages from central station was labouring.
- Hotel is in an awkward place, not quite central but not far enough to take a cab from central station.
- We were informed they had only 1 room left for a queen size bed and it would only be available for 1 night and then we would have to move (why are we less important than people checking in the next day?) Additional money would solve the problem for a better view, smaller room, and queen bed,
- When checking out, the woman at the front desk picked up the phone and helped the person on the phone before us. Aren't people suppose to help the person in front of them first and tell the person on the phone to hold?
- We had a 2 hole travel converter and needed a 3 holed one for a business laptop- we were told to go buy our own at Central Station. We looked there and could not find one. We stayed in London and Paris hotels beforehand and were able to borrow travel converters from them- why not a "4 star" hotel?
- Concierge service is combined with the front desk (strange for a 4 star hotel) so something as simple as your room key not working will result in you waiting in line behind those checking in and checking out and there is always a line as they have 200+ rooms.

Room Tip: A good view will cost you extra money, don't expect free upgrades, it's a business first and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear P G,

Thank you for your review and providing your valuable feedback. We aim to provide an enjoyable, smooth stay with excellent service. From your comments I understand we still have some things we can improve. I would very much appreciate discussing this with you in person, would you be kind enough to contact me about this?

I would like to thank you for your stay with us, and hope we may welcome you back at Room Mate Aitana, as I sincerely would like you to experience our hotel the way we intend it to!

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms are spacious and very modern with a nice view. The location is ok, close to the train station but a bit far to walk to the city centre on a rainy breezy day. Drinks in the bar are of reasonable prices. It's fairly new hotel so there were few mishaps, we have asked for dressing gowns and never got any, the staff apologised at the check out so not a big deal. We also didn't have any menu in our room like someone previously stated. The reception is very busy most of the time and the lifts are very slow or maybe we were just unlucky but always had to wait for the lift for ages, decided to walk down the stairs once only to realise that the stairs only lead to second floor and then nothing?? unless we took fire exit stairs somewhere. Overall nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Iriscz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and thank you for your kind words. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! The few 'mishaps' you mention will be taken to heart, as we take every opportunity we can to improve our hotel!

It has been a pleasure having you as our Room Mate, and we hope we may welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We were seriously impressed by this hotel. It is amazing! the rooms are great, very big, cool bathrooms, and so much light! it is close to everything you need in amsterdam and the staff are so nice. We only stayed one night but we wished all the hotels in our trip were more like this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Ranatan,

thank you very much for your kind words and your 5-star review. We are happy and proud to know you had such a great stay with us.

We enjoyed having you as our Room Mates, and hope we may welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards from all the team,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#60 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#40 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.