We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Large and quiet hotel, beautifully located near the centre. We had a room on the 11th floor: a large room with a wonderful view over the city. The marina is next to the hotel gives it a mediterranean touch. Breakfast was good, hotel staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear ascp,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review of your stay with us. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much! And indeed, the Marina, especially now, almost makes us feel like we are in the Mediterranean or the Cote d'Azur.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and I hope we may welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels soon!

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    428
    88
    24
    9
See reviews for
132
672
42
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Me and a friend stayed at the Room Mate Aitana for a long weekend. We both loved this hotel!

It is modern and clean and with excellent customer service! The location is perfect, quiet and near the water but still close to the city center. I would recommend this hotel for a trip with your friends!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Angelicascloset,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with the world. I am thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay and to know that you loved our hotel, the 5 -star rating you gave is testament to that. Your compliments on the excellent customer service will be shared with Aitana's entire team!

It was our sincere pleasure having you as our guests, and I hope we may welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels!

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Considerable exterior, fascinating interior design, this one-year old modern hotel is what I'm usually searching for when travelling for business purposes. Yeah, the old grumpy man as me will find same faults: they are clearly underpersonneld, the room often aren’t ready at 4 pm, even though the hotel day starts at 3pm... And you're obliged to wait. The breakfast is not the top: quite poor choice for the class of all the rest, never-ending expectancy for your eggs a la coque (there's only one guy to prepare it for 350 rooms!), tree people in the reception are often unsufficient and guest are queuing, but I'd be back even tomorrow. Really nice, well-designed hotel, large, clean and modern rooms, splendid view over the Amstel river. And it's not so far away from the very centre, and 10 min. walk of the haarlemstraat with its colourful life.

Room Tip: Similar one to another, northern part offers better view, upper floors preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Jacek P,

I am thrilled to read that you rate your stay as 'excellent'. Also I would like to thank you for pointing out some points we can improve on, which I can assure you we will take to heart.
Your reference to the Haarlemmerstraat is something I wholeheartedly agree on, it is indeed a funky and colourful street in a quickly upcoming area of Amsterdam. Something we happily point out to our guests to go and experience!

It has been a pleasure welcoming you as our guest, and I hope we may soon welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels!

Kindest regards in behalf of the entire team!

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Excellent rooms, large room with a lot of light. Very quiet atmosphere and invisible, but very useful staff.

Stayed there for 4 night in July 2014.

Location is little bit far from the Centrum area, but it is ok if you don't mind to take a 10 minutes walk daily!

Room Tip: If you have a queen room, try to get 721 ;
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A large, modern hotel, with large rooms that have good closet space. Our room was very quiet, but I would avoid being too close to the lobby bar which was fairly loud. The couple of blocks surrounding the hotel is sort of an industrial harbor area, so not particularly attractive. The hotel is actually on a man-made island in the harbor. There is a Beans & Bagels across the driveway from the hotel, which is a good place to get breakfast. We found the location to be pretty good. It is a 10 minute walk to Amsterdam Central Station - which is the main transportation hub for trains, ferries, trams, metro, and buses (we used our OV-Chipkaarten transportation passes often). It is also a 10 minute walk to the north end of Jordaan. Getting to any other part of Amsterdam will be a longer walk. It is fairly easy and cheap to get to the hotel from the airport, if you know a few things ahead of time: the airport-train station is in a shopping center attached to the airport; the fare to Amsterdam Central Station is about 4 euros; the people at the ticket window are very helpful; the train leaves every 10 or 15 minutes and takes about 15 minutes; when you get off the train, walk towards the ferries (away from main entrance) and cross the busy street; when you reach the ferries, turn left and follow the harbor's edge for 10 minutes (keep the water on your right); the sidewalk will become too narrow (less than a foot wide) for rolling suitcases, so you will have to walk in the bike lane (there will be A LOT of bicycles); you will cross a drawbridge over a canal and then take the pedestrian bridge on your right (which looks like it goes to an office building); continue past the office building and turn left: the hotel entrance will be on your left (and Beans & Bagels on your right).

Room Tip: Room 1001 is a huge Junior Suite on the corner with views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great, modern hotel less than 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station. Decent size room, a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Yes, the hotel is about 20min walk away from centre of Amsterdam but I didn't mind it. As for many places in Amsterdam you can rent a pushbike right at the hotel if you like to get around. I did not eat at the restaurant or had a drink at the bar but it looked nice.
With its proximity to Central Station you have easy access to and from the Airport. If you look for a place in Amsterdam away from the crowds and noise but still in easy reach of everything I would consider the Room Mate Aitana.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Having arrived in Amsterdam by train, I found it difficult to find directions to the hotel from anyone including a group of policemen. This though was due to it being a new hotel. But having got the required diections I found it to be around a 10 minute walk along the canal and under railway bridges and underpasses. As i got closer I saw it was built on an island alongside a marina which looked very impressive. The architecture of the hotel and its surrounding buildings (one of which was the courthouse) where all greatly impressive and gave me a great first impression of the area. But upon my arrival I found a great hotel, stylish and modern with a good clean look about it. Reception staff were very helpful and even asked me if i wanted to upgrade my room. Declining the upgrade i found myself in one excellent room with a corner window overlooking the marina, canal and across the city. Who needs a room upgrade. The meals in the hotel were first class and exceptional service and good quality.
The town centre is not too far away, around a 10 minute stroll depending on which route you take and end your evening with a drink or two on the hotels veranda.
Having only spent 3 nights here I would gladly have stayed longer. Great hotel, great staff great location.

Room Tip: If you are walking from the train station cross the wavey bridge at the back of the hotel, it saves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,490 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.