We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Considerable exterior, fascinating interior design, this one-year old modern hotel is what I'm usually searching for when travelling for business purposes. Yeah, the old grumpy man as me will find same faults: they are clearly underpersonneld, the room often aren’t ready at 4 pm, even though the hotel day starts at 3pm... And you're obliged to wait. The breakfast is not the top: quite poor choice for the class of all the rest, never-ending expectancy for your eggs a la coque (there's only one guy to prepare it for 350 rooms!), tree people in the reception are often unsufficient and guest are queuing, but I'd be back even tomorrow. Really nice, well-designed hotel, large, clean and modern rooms, splendid view over the Amstel river. And it's not so far away from the very centre, and 10 min. walk of the haarlemstraat with its colourful life.

Room Tip: Similar one to another, northern part offers better view, upper floors preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Jacek P,

I am thrilled to read that you rate your stay as 'excellent'. Also I would like to thank you for pointing out some points we can improve on, which I can assure you we will take to heart.
Your reference to the Haarlemmerstraat is something I wholeheartedly agree on, it is indeed a funky and colourful street in a quickly upcoming area of Amsterdam. Something we happily point out to our guests to go and experience!

It has been a pleasure welcoming you as our guest, and I hope we may soon welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels!

Kindest regards in behalf of the entire team!

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    452
    94
    24
    10
See reviews for
149
709
44
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Excellent rooms, large room with a lot of light. Very quiet atmosphere and invisible, but very useful staff.

Stayed there for 4 night in July 2014.

Location is little bit far from the Centrum area, but it is ok if you don't mind to take a 10 minutes walk daily!

Room Tip: If you have a queen room, try to get 721 ;
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

A large, modern hotel, with large rooms that have good closet space. Our room was very quiet, but I would avoid being too close to the lobby bar which was fairly loud. The couple of blocks surrounding the hotel is sort of an industrial harbor area, so not particularly attractive. The hotel is actually on a man-made island in the harbor. There is a Beans & Bagels across the driveway from the hotel, which is a good place to get breakfast. We found the location to be pretty good. It is a 10 minute walk to Amsterdam Central Station - which is the main transportation hub for trains, ferries, trams, metro, and buses (we used our OV-Chipkaarten transportation passes often). It is also a 10 minute walk to the north end of Jordaan. Getting to any other part of Amsterdam will be a longer walk. It is fairly easy and cheap to get to the hotel from the airport, if you know a few things ahead of time: the airport-train station is in a shopping center attached to the airport; the fare to Amsterdam Central Station is about 4 euros; the people at the ticket window are very helpful; the train leaves every 10 or 15 minutes and takes about 15 minutes; when you get off the train, walk towards the ferries (away from main entrance) and cross the busy street; when you reach the ferries, turn left and follow the harbor's edge for 10 minutes (keep the water on your right); the sidewalk will become too narrow (less than a foot wide) for rolling suitcases, so you will have to walk in the bike lane (there will be A LOT of bicycles); you will cross a drawbridge over a canal and then take the pedestrian bridge on your right (which looks like it goes to an office building); continue past the office building and turn left: the hotel entrance will be on your left (and Beans & Bagels on your right).

Room Tip: Room 1001 is a huge Junior Suite on the corner with views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great, modern hotel less than 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station. Decent size room, a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Yes, the hotel is about 20min walk away from centre of Amsterdam but I didn't mind it. As for many places in Amsterdam you can rent a pushbike right at the hotel if you like to get around. I did not eat at the restaurant or had a drink at the bar but it looked nice.
With its proximity to Central Station you have easy access to and from the Airport. If you look for a place in Amsterdam away from the crowds and noise but still in easy reach of everything I would consider the Room Mate Aitana.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Having arrived in Amsterdam by train, I found it difficult to find directions to the hotel from anyone including a group of policemen. This though was due to it being a new hotel. But having got the required diections I found it to be around a 10 minute walk along the canal and under railway bridges and underpasses. As i got closer I saw it was built on an island alongside a marina which looked very impressive. The architecture of the hotel and its surrounding buildings (one of which was the courthouse) where all greatly impressive and gave me a great first impression of the area. But upon my arrival I found a great hotel, stylish and modern with a good clean look about it. Reception staff were very helpful and even asked me if i wanted to upgrade my room. Declining the upgrade i found myself in one excellent room with a corner window overlooking the marina, canal and across the city. Who needs a room upgrade. The meals in the hotel were first class and exceptional service and good quality.
The town centre is not too far away, around a 10 minute stroll depending on which route you take and end your evening with a drink or two on the hotels veranda.
Having only spent 3 nights here I would gladly have stayed longer. Great hotel, great staff great location.

Room Tip: If you are walking from the train station cross the wavey bridge at the back of the hotel, it saves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Pros:
- clean
- modern
- spacious

Cons:
- FAR!!!!!! If you like being in the middle of the action, do not stay here. Public transit isn't amazing in Amsterdam, so to walk 15 just to central station is a pain. Also, Daam Square is more like a 30 minute walk. I found the hotel to be VERY inconvenient in terms of location. The closest landmark was Anne Frank House (20 minute walk)
- Our shower only had a "hose". There was no overhead shower. I personally think that's weird.
- Our room had a leak, so we told the front desk. We got back later that afternoon and they shut off our water and told us they were changing rooms for us. After waiting what felt like forever to get the key to the new room, my husband and I were disappointed to get a smaller room. And the view still sucked.
- Wifi was TERRIBLE

Bottom Line:
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Echothatislove,

Thank you for your open and honest feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. I am sorry to read that your stay was not entirely up to your expectations. You point out some things that we should have done better during your stay, for which I would like to apologize.

I would very much like to get in touch with you to discuss your experience, perhaps you could contact me directly at m.veken@room-matehotels.com ?

We would love a chance to welcome you back to show you the true Room Mate Aitana experience!

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great hotel, very clean and tidy, large rooms, helpful staff, nice bar, couldn't complain. Comfiest bed ever, no exaggeration here it was the best bed I have slept on.

Only minor issue is the walk between the hotel and the centre (15 mins) can become pretty mundane after walking the same route 2-4 times a day it isn't the most scenic of routes but it's a minor flaw.

Tip: rent a bike and cycle between the two...

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#61 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.