We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The location is perfect - close to the Central Station(within walking distance). Close to the city center as well. The service is perfect, the rooms are very simple and clean. Love the architecture around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    200
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
71
316
14
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stopped at Room Mate Aitana for 3 nights this February and what a lovely stay we had. The hotel lobby and bar are incredible. When we first arrived we were both stunned at how nice the hotel is. Check in was very simple apart from being asked for a 100 euro deposit on a credit card. Not owning a credit card we offered to pay cash or by visa debit and were told this was not an option and that any charges via mini bar would have to be paid on the day of departure which was fine.

The room we had was stunning, very modern stylish room the bathroom was very nice. It even had a decent LG TV in the room. The bed is one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Slept perfectly throughout our stay, no faults at all with how comfortable we both were. We did have problems with the in room safe, we followed all instructions to set our pin for whilst we were there and the safe kept resetting itself and counting its way back down to 0 which took forever. We explained this at reception and they said they would send somebody up to have a look at this problem. Tried again later that day when we come back to get showered and the safe did the exact same thing. So we didn't end up using it. Luckily we didn't have many valuables on us.

The hotel is a good ten to fifteen minutes to walk to the centre. The first couple of days it was a nice walk along the harbour front. But in the end we did get a bit fed up with walking back and forth 4 times a day. Walking back at night though is a real nice walk, everything along the harbour is all lit up and it makes a really nice walk back to the hotel.
We had a really nice view out of our hotel window at night aswell. The hotel was extremely quiet throughout our stay. Never heard a single guest on our floor while we were there. Really peaceful stay throughout.

I would love to stop at Room Mate Aitana again if I were to come back to Amsterdam, the only problem is the distance away from the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel is absolutely fabulous, I would definitely stay at any of there other hotels around the world, but for Amsterdam I think I would find something more central next time. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel has a perfect location on the water, on walking distance from the Amsterdam Central Station and the beautiful Jordaan neighboorhood where you can find many great restaurants, cafe's, shops, and museums like the Anne Frank House. The rooms are spacious and clean (fantastic soft and comfortable bed), but a little too empty for me... Clean bathroom with big shower, but the water pressure could be better... The staff is super friendly! The breakfast buffet is great, but not included, so you can also go for the Bagels and Beans opposite of the hotel (great water view). All in all this is a great hotel and reasonably priced for its quality, so we'll definitnely come back!

Room Tip: Try to get a water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Pros:
1) The hotel is very modern, clean and the staff in reception and lobby are so polite and helpful.
2) The room is big, clean, beautiful and awesome credit to its EXTREMELY COMFY bed and pillows.
3) Easy to find
4) Great environment

Cons:
1) The location is slightly far away to Dam Square and those areas in city centre (approximately takes 25-30 mins by walking), although it is really close to central station (10-15 mins)
2) The breakfast is pricey EUR18.5/person which is a buffet breakfast contains of variety selection of breads, bacon, ham, cheese, scramble egg, sausage, baked beans, boiled egg, yoghurts, and omelette but lacks of fresh fruits, or any fresh fruit juice. In my opinion, the breakfast is not worth for EUR18.5.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Christie T,

thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. To be called an 'amazing hotel' is something that gives us great pride and fulfilment! I certainly appreciate the few points of improvement you mention. As we constantly evaluate our product and services, we will take your remarks into consideration.

Thank you for having stayed with us, and we hope we may welcome you back at Room Mate Hotels!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hotel was overall very good besides the fact that our perfume was accidentally broken by a cleaner. After being told we would be contacted the day after our check out about the issue we still have yet to be contacted with a solution about the issue 2 weeks later.
Overall Great rooms, very modern and unique.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Pholmesy.

thank you for taking the time to share your review here on Tripadvisor! We love getting feedback as it helps us in improving our product and standards.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mention there was indeed a hiccup in the communications after your stay, my apologies for that. We have been in touch with you, and I hope the matter has been dealt with to your satisfaction.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we hope we may welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels!

Kindest regards on behalf of the entire team,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A very new, modern, clean and convenient hotel, on the Marina. 2 stops from the central station (Bus #48) and about 7 minutes walking by foot. Our standart room was just PERFECT (number 402 , thank you Adriana !!!) with walls of glass and a great view over the Marina.
Right across the street there is a "Bagels and Beans" cafe that is PERFECT for breakfast - a very trendy place with a beautiful view and tasty bagels. We definitely recommand !!! Don't think twice - BOOK IT TODAY !

Room Tip: rooms at the end of the floor have a great view (our was #402)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Sivan R,

What a pleasure to read your 5 star review of your stay with us! It gives us great satisfaction to read that you had such a great time in Amsterdam staying with us. I will definitely let Adriana know you loved your room so much!

Thank you for your stay with us, and we hope we may welcome you back soon!

On behalf of the entire team, kind regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Love, love, love this hotel. My partner and i have stayed here twice, and will return again when visiting Amsterdam. The location was perfect, not too far from the hustle and bustle of the city, but far enough to relax and enjoy the laid back atmosphere of Amsterdam.
The rooms on both occasions have been stunning, minimal, contemporary design and comfortable. Phenomenal views with floor to ceiling glass windows.
The staff are lovely, nothing is ever too much from front of house through to housekeeping.
Only ate at the restaurant once which was for breakfast, which was utterly divine and available in plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear 2wentysomething,

'Bullseye', what a great way to start your review. We love getting feedback, especially when we hear how our guests enjoyed themselves staying with us in Amsterdam! I am especially proud to read that you appreciated our staff so much, I will make sure your review will be passed on to our team!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards from all the team,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.