We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city hotel, ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
milton keynes
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent city hotel, ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

When we arrived we were checked in very quickly and with a friendly smile. The room we had been given had been smoked in and reception moved us straight away with profuse apologies.
The location is perfect for the Central Station (10 minutes walk) and the local tram terminus.
I suggest using the train from/to the airport. It cost Eur70 for a taxi from the rank but only Eur8 (for two) on the train.
The hotel is light.bright and clean.
The staff were very friendly (with only one disinterested barman who spoilt a perfect score).
For breakfast we didn't think Eur 18 would be good value so we went across the street to Bagels N Beans for bagel and coffee. About 1/3rd the cost, with great views of the river and the boat traffic a great atmosphere and very friendly staff.
The room were very generously sized and had full picture windows to give a panoramic view. Beds were very comfortable.
We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and the food was very good. Maybe the portions were a little bit undersized, but the quality was excellent.
The only grumble, one day the maid seemed to have forgotten to finish our room, bed made but no towels or soaps. Very quickly put right, but attention to detail.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and the city, a great short break.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor, overlooking the city. There is always activity to watch from the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    262
    69
    15
    7
See reviews for
90
419
25
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Me n the mrs stayed here in january, an apart from las vegas, this is one of the cleanest friendliest hotels we have stayed in! I have been to amsterdam 4 times, and next time i will be stayin here again! Its close to everyfink u need, especially coffee shops!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Randosingh,

what a pleasure to read that you had such a great time staying with us! Your appreciation of the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff makes us all proud. We enjoyed having you as our guests and already look forward to the next time you will stay with us!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel is a stones throw from the rear exit of central station and central Amsterdam (approx. 5 min walk). The rooms are exceptionally clean and modern, the staff friendly enough however we did have a lengthy wait in order to check out due to the number of people checking in - no fast tracking for checking out. Also be aware, there are no local shops nearby so buy your supplies before arriving back to your hotel room. The hotel does have a restaurant which we never sampled however the menu was Spanish and priced as you would expect for a 4 star hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear BarbH,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your time in Room Mate Aitana! We love to get feedback. A such it gives me great pleasure to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Saying you would stay with us again is the best compliment we can get.
I appreciate your comments on the time it took you to check out; it will please you to know that we are currently investigating options to provide some form of fast track check-out!

It was our sincere pleasure to have you as our guest, and hopefully we may welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels in the future!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Good location for business, nice interior concep and next to the water.

But there is a saying that the error is in the detail - in this hotel it's the errors:

- In the restaurant area there is no soap for three hours in the bathroom, even telling them the issue two times they said the soap part needs to be fixed instead putting a normal soap there for some hours what is a bit akward in the sense of nobody (even the stuff) can use soap for washing their hands.
- At the gym they have a water machine, but most of the time it was empty
- At the breakfast there are no forks or coffee cups any longer, we needed to tell it twice that we need that.
- Food is brought 2 minutes before they bring you the forks or napkins (that they even forgot totally)
- We ordered a cab at the reception and insisted with credit card but the cab came and of course there was no credit card payment possible
- Line of the reception telephone was most of the time busy.
- Laundry needs to be brought down instead of someone picking it up

Telling the hotel all these minor issues we just heard back from a waitress: there is no manager behind. And that's how the hotel feels.

Rooms are nice and clean, but if you need a bit of a service this hotel might not be the right one.

If you just need a lovely place to sleep, go ahead and try it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_principe, General Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
we am sorrry to read about your experience at Room Mate Aitana. Your comments are very valuable to us, meanwhile action has been taken to improve the details which are extremely important to us.
Your comments about the restaurant have been sent to the I-Dock managent for review and improvement as it is a fully independent company running the operation.
We hope we to welcome you again at the hotel during your next visit in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Massimo Del Principe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights room only. It is a modern hotel about 12 /15 minutes walk from the train station / town center. The large room I stayed in was on the fourth floor facing out over the marina. The room comprised of two queen sized beds, desk, chair, storage area with iron and ironing board , reasonably priced miny bar, complimentary tea / coffee , flat screen tv with bbc 1,2 and other english speaking channels. There were large widows facing out over the marina, one of the windows could be opened for fresh air if you preferred not to use the temperature controlled air conditioning. The bathroom too was large with a walk in rainfall shower with spray attachment. The hotel also provided the usuall toiletries. The staff were pleasent and dressed smart but casual. I did not eat in the hotel but enjoyed a few drinks on the picnic benches in the marina. Drink price was no more than was charged in the center of amsterdam.
If venturing to amsterdam again I would stay here but the walk into town might bother some people as there is no nearby public transport. Due to being right in the marina this hotel might not be suitable for young kids. To find hotel, leave train station via the rear door (as if going for the ferry). Turn left and follow the waters edge until you see the hotel. You can cross the 'Wavey' bridge as you approach the hotel to save walking all the way round the marina.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the marina. Note there is a hefty supliment for the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a fantastic new hotel and very easily accessible, if you follow the right directions. The hotel, and man made island it is on are both relatively new. Therefore barely anybody that we asked had any idea where it was, which left us spending two hours walking round very lost! However, if you exit the train station via the back, i.e. you are facing away from the city and face water. You simply turn left and walk for about 5 minutes and it's right I front of you. A ten minute walk from the city centre, tops. The staff on reception are extremely friendly, have excellent English and provide you with a free map, circling places of interest. As a warning as you may be unaware, they take a deposit between £60-80 if I remember correctly on a credit card, but you do get this back when you check out and it doesn't actually appear on your statement. The rooms are all very fresh and modern, with the best beds I have ever slept in! Overall a fabulous quiet hotel and would not hesitate about staying again if in Amsterdam. Also one last tip, if they offer you the upgrade I wouldn't bother, room is exactly the same with just an added bath! The view is not worth the extra pennies!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights in Feb 2014. Overall, I was very impressed with my experience. The hotel lobby and bar areas are very hip and modern, with great views of the marina.

Our room was huge and contained floor to ceiling windows. The bathroom was spacious, with a delightful rain shower and plentiful toiletries.

We paid for breakfast on two of the mornings and, although it was quite expensive, it was delicious and there was a wide variety of food and drinks.

The only minor negative about the hotel is the location. A ten minute walk to the main railway station; however, when we left the hotel to go sightseeing each morning, we left for the day. It is too far to walk back and forth between the hotel and the tourist attractions.

Overall, a wonderful, modern hotel. Great for a couple of days to relax and unwind. If you don't mind walking or getting a taxi to and from this hotel, then it is perfect.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.