We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, different, just a few things to watch out for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, different, just a few things to watch out for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on a number of occasions for business and it is a unique and rewarding place to stay, if a little out of the way.
The price for rooms varies enormously from week to week. One week a standard room will cost 189 euros per night, the next over 300 for no discernible reason so choose your dates carefully if you can.
The desk staff are attentive and approachable but lack imagination on occasion. The chain lacks a loyalty scheme and seems to offer little for regular guests.
The gym is excellent and the views extraordinary... though you'll have to pay extra for it.
Breakfast is sufficient but nothing extra since they put the price up. The fruit goes fast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Some kind of administrative fudge-up was made when we booked, so staff upgraded us to a suite for the weekend (which was fantastic as it was our wedding anniversary.) We never got to see the standard rooms, so I can't comment, but the suite itself was fantastic - far too roomy for just two people. although I'm not complaining!

Lovely view of the canals (I suspect most of the rooms had this view) the room itself was very clean, bed very comfortable - the wi-fi cut out depending on where you were in the room but I suspect this probably wouldn't affect most of the normal rooms.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable - all spoke excellent English. The hotel itself is in a perfect area, in my opinion - easy walking distance to the station and the centre, but just out of the way enough to be nice and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkehsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous new hotel. . Huge comfy bed. . Lovely bathroom and the room in general was very nice. Friendly staff and very reasonable for what we paid. Only slight grumble is it is a bit further away from the Centraal station than stated.. it is probably 'as the crow flies' rather than taking into account you have to walk right around the peir to get there. That is the ONLY very small negative. I would stay again and have recommended this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jemma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed six nights at the Room Mate Aitana and overall it was a very good experience. The hotel is 8 months old, so everything is new and fresh. The design is contemporary, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Ours was on the 7th floor, large, quiet, well appointed, with nice views to the canal and Jordaan. The tea/coffee facilities in the room were average, at best.

Hotel location is great for a short stay, but after six days of sightseeing on foot, the hike to the hotel got a bit too much. The hotel is about 12 minutes away from the Central Station which is also Amsterdam's transport hub. There is no public transport closer to the hotel. There are also no restaurants or shops in the immediate vicinity - the walk into the city is also about 12 minutes away. There are a couple of shortcuts: to get to the hotel from Central Station, exit from the side of the marina - you'll see a Subway restaurant in front and to the left; take a left turn and follow the path along the canal, cross the bridge and continue till you reach a waive-like brudge on the left - cross the bridge and walk to the white square building (Palace of Justice), then turn left, walk another 50-60 m and you are at the entrance of the hotel. To get to the city, do the same - walk to the Palace of Justice, cross the bridge and you will see across the road a tunnel. Cross the street, walk under the tunnel, cross the bridge and you will find yourself surrounded by eateries and shops. There is a decent supermarket to the left of the bridge and the cheese shop on the left corner offers excellent sandwiches and traditional sweets (try the apple strudel).

You can have breakfast (€17.5 pp) or dine at the hotel, but I think there are many better options - there is no shortage of good food at decent prices around the city.

Staff at the hotel were quite helpful. Check-in can be slow. At check in I noted that the room rate I booked online differed very significantly from the one the hotel was going to charge us. The receptionist made some phone calls and the matter was rectified.

Little things make a difference: shampoo was not replaced for three days (thankfully, we carry our own toiletries). It was a bit of a mystery what and when gets replaced - including the towels. I am sure if we asked the hotel would've assisted, but these are things that should be routinely provided in a 4 star establishment.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel for a short stay. Hopefully the few service issues will be ironed out.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Saltywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was here on business and the Hotel was recommended by the organizers
booking was via special form from the organizers was 109 for the room + 20 for breakfast
after the arrival i was asked if i wanted a room with a view for 15€ extra (i declined) and 5€ extra tax were charged to my account and they charged me 200 euro in deposit ????? (never had to do that before)
The room was big clean and very nice but not as nice as in the pictures and the only thing you could see through the giant windows was the buildings next door and there was no view protection curtain only 2 layers of very dark and very very dark room
the bathroom was decent but lacked a sealing under the shower so the whole room was flooded after the shower (same with all other rooms of colleagues)
one evening we had dinner at the hotel (was paid for by company) the dinner was very nice but service was not up to the task (bread arrived after everyone was finished, food got mixed up ...)

breakfast was ok but nothing out of the ordinary

the hotel is close to the train station but it is still quite a walk to get there

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markussa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Expedia for a city break, and to say it exceeded all expectations is an understatement!
Staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful re local area.
The hotel itself is swanky! Really modern throughout and a total contrast to many others in Amsterdam. We ate in the restaurant one evening and afterwards we were sorry we hadn't done so sooner - its incredible! Ask for a table overlooking the kitchen if you'd like to see chefs in action and meals being plated up.
One suggestion is re balcony area in bedroom. There's what I can only describe as a faux balcony, between the bedroom windows and the fully glassed over building exterior. It would have been nice to sit out when weather was lovely, or even fully open the window/door from bedroom. Maybe its a safety restriction though.
All in all a terrific stay.
Next time I'm in Amsterdam there's only one hotel I'll be looking at booking!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Angeld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Newly opened last year the Hotel Aitana offers very comfortable accommodation in a great waterside location, convenient for the sights of Amsterdam. We stayed 4 nights in a spacious Queen Room - extremely comfortable and well- serviced. The front staff were very helpful and welcoming. Some reservations over the Restaurant (see separate review) but the hotel itself is deserving its 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing