We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Best hotel I have stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Gorgeous new hotel. . Huge comfy bed. . Lovely bathroom and the room in general was very nice. Friendly staff and very reasonable for what we paid. Only slight grumble is it is a bit further away from the Centraal station than stated.. it is probably 'as the crow flies' rather than taking into account you have to walk right around the peir to get there. That is the ONLY very small negative. I would stay again and have recommended this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    169
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
58
275
10
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed six nights at the Room Mate Aitana and overall it was a very good experience. The hotel is 8 months old, so everything is new and fresh. The design is contemporary, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Ours was on the 7th floor, large, quiet, well appointed, with nice views to the canal and Jordaan. The tea/coffee facilities in the room were average, at best.

Hotel location is great for a short stay, but after six days of sightseeing on foot, the hike to the hotel got a bit too much. The hotel is about 12 minutes away from the Central Station which is also Amsterdam's transport hub. There is no public transport closer to the hotel. There are also no restaurants or shops in the immediate vicinity - the walk into the city is also about 12 minutes away. There are a couple of shortcuts: to get to the hotel from Central Station, exit from the side of the marina - you'll see a Subway restaurant in front and to the left; take a left turn and follow the path along the canal, cross the bridge and continue till you reach a waive-like brudge on the left - cross the bridge and walk to the white square building (Palace of Justice), then turn left, walk another 50-60 m and you are at the entrance of the hotel. To get to the city, do the same - walk to the Palace of Justice, cross the bridge and you will see across the road a tunnel. Cross the street, walk under the tunnel, cross the bridge and you will find yourself surrounded by eateries and shops. There is a decent supermarket to the left of the bridge and the cheese shop on the left corner offers excellent sandwiches and traditional sweets (try the apple strudel).

You can have breakfast (€17.5 pp) or dine at the hotel, but I think there are many better options - there is no shortage of good food at decent prices around the city.

Staff at the hotel were quite helpful. Check-in can be slow. At check in I noted that the room rate I booked online differed very significantly from the one the hotel was going to charge us. The receptionist made some phone calls and the matter was rectified.

Little things make a difference: shampoo was not replaced for three days (thankfully, we carry our own toiletries). It was a bit of a mystery what and when gets replaced - including the towels. I am sure if we asked the hotel would've assisted, but these are things that should be routinely provided in a 4 star establishment.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel for a short stay. Hopefully the few service issues will be ironed out.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was here on business and the Hotel was recommended by the organizers
booking was via special form from the organizers was 109 for the room + 20 for breakfast
after the arrival i was asked if i wanted a room with a view for 15€ extra (i declined) and 5€ extra tax were charged to my account and they charged me 200 euro in deposit ????? (never had to do that before)
The room was big clean and very nice but not as nice as in the pictures and the only thing you could see through the giant windows was the buildings next door and there was no view protection curtain only 2 layers of very dark and very very dark room
the bathroom was decent but lacked a sealing under the shower so the whole room was flooded after the shower (same with all other rooms of colleagues)
one evening we had dinner at the hotel (was paid for by company) the dinner was very nice but service was not up to the task (bread arrived after everyone was finished, food got mixed up ...)

breakfast was ok but nothing out of the ordinary

the hotel is close to the train station but it is still quite a walk to get there

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Booked this hotel through Expedia for a city break, and to say it exceeded all expectations is an understatement!
Staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful re local area.
The hotel itself is swanky! Really modern throughout and a total contrast to many others in Amsterdam. We ate in the restaurant one evening and afterwards we were sorry we hadn't done so sooner - its incredible! Ask for a table overlooking the kitchen if you'd like to see chefs in action and meals being plated up.
One suggestion is re balcony area in bedroom. There's what I can only describe as a faux balcony, between the bedroom windows and the fully glassed over building exterior. It would have been nice to sit out when weather was lovely, or even fully open the window/door from bedroom. Maybe its a safety restriction though.
All in all a terrific stay.
Next time I'm in Amsterdam there's only one hotel I'll be looking at booking!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Newly opened last year the Hotel Aitana offers very comfortable accommodation in a great waterside location, convenient for the sights of Amsterdam. We stayed 4 nights in a spacious Queen Room - extremely comfortable and well- serviced. The front staff were very helpful and welcoming. Some reservations over the Restaurant (see separate review) but the hotel itself is deserving its 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Fresh, clean, modern, well-designed, sexy! The Room Mate Aitana was a great choice for our four-day jaunt in Amsterdam. I was in a rock star grade room/suite, #1226. It had an amazing view! The hotel is a short walk to the Centraal Station and downtown. Having spent lots of time downtown, I'd much rather shack-up at the Aitana! The restaurant was unexpectedly awesome, try the chef's pick with the wine service, it'll put a smile on your face!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

There were 12 of us celebrating my 40th birthday, we arrived in Amsterdam at 9:30am. The hotel allowed us all to check in very early. The staff here could not have been friendlier. After enjoying an excellent day and night in Amsterdam's busy center we returned to the hotel to discover a truly excellent atmosphere in the hotels bar. Not only did they play the latest club music, they also stayed open late and welcomed our party to carry on into the early hours of the morning, truly amazing staff.
The hotel accommodation is unique, we had a suite and this was delightful, the views were amazing. All of our friends had booked standard rooms, they were also of a very high standard. The hotel was clean and very modern. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The location is great (remember to leave via the back, and across the bridge) Our trip to Amsterdam was made extra special by the fact we stayed here. This was my 7th trip to Amsterdam and this has, by far, been my favorite hotel. I will be staying here again :)

Room Tip: In my opinion all the rooms are good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Prestigia, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.