We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design, confort and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Maia, Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Design, confort and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

A very sophisticated hotel with a good vibe. The staff is very friendly. The room is very quiet, extremely comfortable with a great bathroom.
All the design of the hotel is amazing.
The only issue is that it's a 10 minute walk from the Central Station - but I think it really compensates.

Room Tip: Upper room with view to the city, not to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    398
    84
    23
    9
See reviews for
124
632
39
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Amazing location, a short walk from Centrall station. From our corner room we had great views of the canal and the city. The hotel is exceptional value, the finish and cleanliness of the hotel was second to none, but was suprisingly cheap. We had just a one night stay at the Aitana since the hotel was fully booked. Kilea at the front desk went 'above and beyond' to help us, when we couldnt book for an extra two days. I wouldnt normally make use of a hotel restraraunt/bar becasue i have previously found them lacking in atmosphere. However, they far exceeded my expectations-great Dj and cocktail staff. Food in the restaraunt and bar, overlooking the canal, was great quality, and good value though the service didnt live up to that provided by the rest of the hotel.

The location is approx 15mins walk from Dam Square, a little further than i would want to return after a late night, however the facilites and standard at the Aitana make up for the walk. You really cannot get anything more central at even clsoe to this standard-regardless of cost!

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just back after a pleasant two night stay at the Aitana, only a short walk from Central Station and right on the riverside. The view from our room was out towards the city, the staff that we spoke to were all very helpful and friendly, a nice bright spacious modern hotel and lots of choice for breakfast.

Just can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was at the RMA for business for one night in April 2014.
The hotel, though located on a new area close to the railway station and not in the center of town, is nice, with modern furniture, and all the room essentials one could expect.
The breakfast buffet, of very good quality, is covering both continental and english breakfast.
There is also a pleasant restaurant inside the hotel, with a refined menu and excellent quality.
It takes you about 20-30 minutes on foot if you want to go to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is a modern construction but rather brutal in concept; a combination of bare concrete interior walls but with messages everywhere entreating guests to believe that the hotel is actually a warm and cosy place full of love for their residents. A Spanish chain with an interesting marketing line. Its popular with, from what I could see, mostly tourists. Conveniently located within 10 minutes brisk walk from Amsterdam's Central Station and 15 minutes to the Dam. Built on reclaimed land with a view of a bit of water and jetties on one side, the other side has a potentially very nice view of the harbour that is robbed by another new high rise building.
There is one restaurant that serves a relatively mediocre breakfast with, to my personal annoyance, no orange marmalade and small cups that serve for both for tea and coffee. Lunch and dinner comprises a limited menu of modest quality that encourages the desire to explore the wider gastronomic selection that Amsterdam has to offer.
The Reception and restaurant staff are young and enthusiastic in their desire to please.
Now for the room: mine was spacious but I learnt that the rooms are not all the same. They are of all shapes and layouts. Maybe the architect enjoyed experimentation but it does mean that you don't know what to expect; maybe the room will be good, but maybe cramped and L-shaped. My room was typical of layouts that are unfortunately all too typical of hotels apparently designed by architects who probably never stayed in a hotel in their lives.
I had a nice king size bed and the room was big enough to take another. Four huge pillows that were two too many so the surplus gets dumped on the floor. Meanwhile the wardrobe was small (why when there was so much floor space to spare?) and, as is common with many hotels, unusable because it was occupied by a large ironing board and room safe. The ironing board had to be removed to enable suits etc to be hung. The wardrobe construction was cheap white MDF but the hangers were at least of the normal hook type, so a plus point here. The suitcase shelf was small so the case would have to remain shut. Not very useful. There was a desk but no power sockets within reach. Access to these required crawling under the desk on the floor. The room lighting was dim in the extreme so business work was not really possible after dark.
An external laundry service was available but the bag had to be personally delivered by the guest to Reception by 08:30 if same day delivery was needed. In common with 90% of hotels worldwide guests requiring laundry more than once during their stay would be frustrated because laundry lists and bags are not replenished by the room maid. Beware! The default shirt delivery is not folded but on hangers so the traveler must ensure that extra time is reserved to fold his shirts for packing during that rush to checkout and the airport! Convenient for the laundry but a disservice to the business traveler.
My bathroom had a fabulous shower; big enough to stand back without getting frozen by the initial surge of cold water. Bars of soap were provided (as opposed to the hateful liquid soap dispensers) but, unusually, Kleenex tissues were not provided so sniffles had to be dealt with using toilet paper. Not the end of the world but inconvenient. The maid would seal the first sheet of toilet paper to the roll with glue and the hotel logo. Supposed to be a luxury touch but actually a nuisance if in a hurry to get to that meeting after a bit of porcelain throne contemplation because the loo paper is stuck fast.
My bathroom also had no shaver socket, but did have a double mains power sockets next to the sink that would doubt would give H&S inspectors in the UK nightmares.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for one night at this hotel in Amsterdam. It was great. The view was fantastic. Breakfast was also great!
The reception is sometimes very full so check in and check out might take a bit longer..
Air-condition in the room cannot be shut down. That is the only thing that bothered me.
We'd love to stay here again when we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here end of March beginning of April we arrived by train only to realise that it was a short walk it was great! Clean spacious room!
Didn't have breakfast as we wanted to go into the city and try something different!
Overall perfect time away!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Marc R,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for rating us with 5 stars! I am happy to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and I hope we may welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels?!

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.