We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb modern hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb modern hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in march. I only paid £75 for a standard room. Fantastic price. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from central station, very easy to find. Great location looking onto the water and no noise at night. It is not out of the way as some reviews suggest, the 500 meters is probably as the crow flies.check in very easy but they put £200 on your credit card???? It is refunded at check out, what happens if you don't have a credit card? The rooms are excellent. Beds amazing. Cant say a bad word about the hotel, great decor and spotlessly clean. It would be my first choice to stay here again. Breakfast in the hotel is very good but i thought a little expensive at 17.5 euros. No problem getting breakfast for 6 or 7 euros. I know it wont be as good as the hotel but 35 euros is an expensive start to the day. In a nutshell....book this hotel you will have no regrets. Airport to central station 9 euros return, with trains every 20 minutes, don't get ripped off in a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Ken B,

thank you for sharing your 5-star review with us. It is fantastic to read that we will be your first choice when you return to Amsterdam, as this obviously indicates you had a great time with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the beds, they have been designed especially for Room Mate hotels, as a great bed is one of our pillars!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we would love to welcome you back at Room Mate Hotels!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    252
    67
    13
    7
See reviews for
88
399
21
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location, easy to walk to central station and everywhere else. The decor is a bit different inside - trendy and modern - and the rooms are big, nicely decorated and very clean. Huge comfy bed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas at the beginning of Dec and the hotel was fab! Large comfy beds, large bathroom - great shower. Nice walk to the centre wasn't to far. We didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel it's self but could not fault it.
The receptionist was very helpful and told us a few great places to eat. I would stay here again the view was great, huge windows. :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Let me say this, I have never stayed at a hotel that has been as chilled, helpful and beautiful as this one. I booked through my trusted booking.com and in the special requests I asked for a room out of the way of noise as I am over here to study. These notes I usually just write for the sake of it because nobody ever reads them. Room Mate hotel did! I got a 7th floor room (703) overlooking the water it was so beautifully clean spotless and silent. I couldn't hear anything! My room was ready by half 12 even though check out is generally at 2pm and it was great because I was utterly exhausted from the travelling.

Hotel staff gave me a map and lots of help with making my way around. Cab driver right outside to take me to the Dappermarket, that was cool.

The hotel staff are immaculate. I am still in the hotel now and from the cleaners to the managers and receptionists, everyone is gorgeous and it makes a difference to your stay to see so many happy smiling people everywhere!

I cannot fault a single thing, I am absolutely stunned, the service, everything is just perfect. I felt like I was at home in London not in a foreign city all on my own. Tipped my chambermaid for being so patient with me, im so crap at packing to leave but she gave me my space and I was really grateful to her.

Will I be back? Damn straight! Im coming back with my friends this summer, hotel room mate is the spot to be, forget all those sleasy de wallen dives, stay in complete luxury at room mate. This hotel is better than any 5* I have stayed in in london or anywhere elso for that matter. Hands down my favourite trip ever.

What more can I say! Thanks so much guys!

Holly xx

Room Tip: 701 the room next door to mine will have had a staggering view I reckon but 703 was perfect I woke u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Holly,

The first thing I did after reading your review was printing it on high quality paper and place it in a honorary place on our internal noticeboards for everyone to read. I have noticed the pride our staff takes in reading it, thank you for sharing!

The biggest compliment is when our guests are returning, so it gives me great pleasure to know that you will be back this summer, together with your friends. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again!

Thank you for sharing your positive energy, and until next time!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great location by the canal and less than 10 min walk from Amsterdam Centraal (beware of bicycles, they ride like crazy and you don't hear them coming!) This is a design hotel, very modern and pleasant if you like the style (which means, if you are not looking for an "old Amsterdam" atmosphere) I enjoyed the huge window of the room, with a view on the water Excellent wifi connection (but you need to renew the connection every day) The bed was very confortable. Good to have a kettle with coffee and tea. Very good value for price (the only warning is the 17+ euro for breakfast ...).

The check-in was pretty slow (and I've been told that this is not an isolated case).

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the upper floors (better if facing south), the view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Central location. Very modern. only 10 minutes walk from the Central Station.
The staff are very friendly. they will do whatever they can to help and assist.
There is a free wifi internet connection inside the rooms. However, itsn't brilliant. However, I can't complain as it is free and it is a bonus.
I will definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: If you arriving to Amsterdam by plane, don't bother to take a taxi. You can use the train o the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Checked in with no problems, our room was beautiful, comfortable and stylish, looked very elegant in the evenings. Staff were helpful and polite. Bar was a bice area to use. Prime location and amazing scenery. Will definatly be using this hotel again...very soon!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.