We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT YOU WANT FROM A HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, Amsterdam 1013 MM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WHAT YOU WANT FROM A HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Placed in Ijdok some reviewers think this is too much of a walk from the centre of Amsterdam but I can assure you it is not. Only a 10 minute walk to Centraal station and 15 minutes to Dam Square. This hotel is in the class of its own with the fact it's probably the newest in Amsterdam built on 2013.

I stayed here in early January with my partner and we felt that the reception staff have a welcoming feel and make sure you well looked after. Our room was on the 9th floor and there is 12 floors in total. All standard rooms with a view are between 9 and 12th floors. I would urge everyone to get a room with a view as you get a lovely view of the city.

The room is of a high standard and can't be faulted at all especially for a good price. The bed is very large and comfy, the tv is LG 37inch flat screen with a wide array of English and Dutch channels. The decor is very stylish and the bathroom has the best shower I've ever used.

In conclusion this hotel is of a high standard and if you are thinking of staying in Amsterdam and you are looking for a stylish modern hotel then choose this hotel and you won't be disappointed.

A few tips:

- if you don't want to walk to the city centre you can catch the no.48 bus going to Borneo Eiland that stops just over the road from the hotel which for €2.80 and ask to get off at Centraal it's only a 3 minute bus journey.

- use the bridge to get to the hotel

- buy a panoramic view room

- visit the lounge/bar

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    93
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
167
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We paid for our flights and hotel together through lastminute.com so I'm unsure of how much the hotel was, but each we paid £250 for return flights and a room for 3 nights. When we arrived at the airport we asked someone who pointed us in the direction of which shuttle bus to get to our hotel. The driver was extremely friendly and it cost us 17 euros each to take us directly to the hotel. He even offered to collect us again in his own taxi for the same price the day we left. We arrived at the hotel to check in and was informed we had to leave a 50 euro deposit for the room. Whether I missed the small print or not I'm unsure but I would of preferred that to of been made clear when booking. Our hotel was on the 11th floor second from the top floor. Although the picture of the hotel makes it seem as the hotel has sea/river views either side faces another building. Fortunately we still had a good view from either side of the building opposite as the windows were huge! We'd booked a queen room so was very pleased with a large bed with a memory foam mattress! The tv channels had bbc 1 & 2 and a few other English channels such as MTV and discovery. The shower was also huge! Our room was cleaned and hoovered everyday obviously with the beds changed and made as well. The only thing I'd say was frustrating in the room was that their was no main light. There was 7 different lamps all with separate switches which became annoying when I wanted to do my make up and hair in the room while my partner was in the shower as there was no decent light. Apart from that couldn't fault it! Breakfast was optional if you wanted it it was 12 euros but we enjoyed eating out in the city. The main areas are a 15 minute walk from the hotel which we liked although I wouldn't recommend to anyone who isn't up for a brisk walk there and back everyday. Perfectly clean and very friendly. Great location for what we wanted.

Room Tip: Last minute.com did a great deal for a queen sized room. I'd definitely recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent a night here as a last minute getaway. The hotel was fantastic, very clean and modern. Free wi-fi and a really good room, great views from the room of the city, a large flat screen with English channels and a great bathroom. The bed was very large and comfortable. Mini bar was well stocked.
The restaurant was not open but staff directed us to a website and we had food delivered within 30 minutes. The delivery guy was even escorted to the room.
All round a nice place to stay within 10 minutes walk of the station. Will be booking again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 2 nights on 30 dec. We loved it, the room was spotless, it had the comfiest queensize bed. The shower was also great, complimentary toiletries, our towels were changed daily. It is located on the dock which is a 10 min walk to the city centre. This was not a problem as we did lots of walking during our stay. Great hotel would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Below is an email i sent to Room Mate Head Office. I recieved no response from them :-
Hello,
My Wife And I Stayed At Room Mate Amsterdam From 14.12.2013 To 16.12.2013. During Our Stay We Had A Problem That The Air Conditioning In Our Room Would Not Switch Off. It Meant That We Had Very Dry Sore Throats After A Nights Sleep Due To Air Constantly Blowing. We Asked For The Problem To Be Fixed On 3 Seperate Occasions. At 10 Minutes To Midnight On 15.12.13 We Were Offered Another Room, But It Was Late.
The Next Next Morning At Check Out We Told The Manager About Our Problem. She Said That All Rooms Have The Aircon Running Delivering Frsh Air To The Rooms. If That Is So Then Why Were We Offered Another Room ?? If The Aircon Cannot Be Switched Off Then Why Is There An "On / Off" Button On The Controller ??
To Compensate The Fact That We Had 2 Very Bad Nights Sleep, With Air Circulating And The Controller "Clicking" Every 10 Minutes, She Gave Us Our Mini Bar Drinks Free. That Amounted To 2 Bottles Of Water !!!!
We Were Told That Maintenence Did Not Work After 5pm And So There Was No One To Fix Our Problem. Surely An Hotel Should Have Some Maintenence Staff Available For Problems 24 Hours ?
So, To Summerise:- We Asked 3 Times For The Aircon Problem To Be Fixed--It Was Not. For Having 2 Very Bad Nights Sleep We Paid Approx €300 And Were Given 2 Bottles Of Water As Compensation. We Were Not Expecting Any Compensation, Just An Apology For Our Bad Nights Sleep But Instead The Manager Attempted To Convince Us That All The Rooms Had Aircon On All The Time, Which Is Obviously Not True Otherwise We Would Not Have Been Offered Another Room !!
We Chose To Stay At This Hotel After Reading Favourable Reviews On Tripadviser, None Of Wich Mentioned An Aircon Problem.
I Will Post My Review On Tripadviser After Recieving Your Comments On This Email.
Regards

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I spent new year here with my partner .this is a new hotel and has yet to open its restaurant which i am told opens very soon. modern quirky colorful and clean ,i loved it here very clean room with an extra large bed and floor to ceiling windows with a great shower and complimentary toiletries and a well stocked mini bar, ice machine and shoe shine machine in all floors and very friendly and helpful staff ,at the bells ringing in 2014 there was a small cobbled dock just a step outside the hotel where a few guests and locals gathered with champagne as the large ships sounded there horns and the canal boats joined in actually making a tune as the amsterdam sky light up with fireworks it was an amazing and romantic experience ,at check out staff were helpful to taking our cases and waiting on us in the lounge as we had a later flight and were feeling bit delicate ,i am looking forward to returning here . i only have one complaint about this place and that was i did not enjoy the breakfast .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Room Mate had really nice rooms with great views. Very modern, new and clean. A little uncomfortable as it was the start of winter and the heating in the room did not go above 23degrees which is the maximum the hotel allows for. This made the nights freezing, especially for our 5-month old baby. They provided a thick queen sized blanket, but was obviously not baby-safe. We ended up having to buy a blanket from a shop. It was quite a walk from the train station especially when the walk paths were narrow and had uneven stoning, and right of way is given to cyclists - not great when walking from the station with luggage. The location is not great if you're looking to walk to the canals or the city center. There are other hotels charging the same rate but with better location, clearly this hotel is riding on it's newness and modern charm. However it was quite adequate in terms of a place to rest and have a nice warm shower.

Tip: cross the bridge leading the building and don't make the mistake of walking the whole way round.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, Amsterdam 1013 MM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, EasyToBook, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list