We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, Amsterdam 1013 MM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just came back from spending a week in Amsterdam, the hotel is not too far from the train station or the town centre, perfect for a city break if you want to have a good night sleep after hitting the town. The rooms were very clean and the room service impecable. Reception staff were very helpful. TV in the room has the BBC channels.
Breakfast was not included in the price and at first I thought that €12.50 was a bit steep, but after getting breakfast in town, the prices were pretty even for less choice. The hotel has a buffet breakfast which is well stocked and cater for all tastes. Would definitively recommend guests try it. We did on our last day and should have done that earlier...
I would definitively stay there again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: try to request a higher room, you will have a better view on the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    162
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
55
266
10
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and I was very satisfied with the stay. The rooms are spacious and clean with very modern decor. The beds are very comfortable and the view from my 12th floor room was very nice. The hotel is brand new and that can be seen at the reception. At times there is a slight chaos when the staff is unsure of procedures. Be prepared that all taxi drivers don't know of the hotel as it is so new. The island it is on is not even marked on google maps yet. Even if breakfast wasn't included, the 12.50 € additional fee was very reasonable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullapool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I spent an enjoyable city break in Amsterdam at the beginning of December and we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.Having not stayed in Amsterdam before we chose this hotel at random through the internet.Amsterdam is a really friendly city and we had no problems finding the hotel after arriving in the airport thanks to the staff there.The travel from the airport to the hotel was so simple and quick - we just had to get a train from the railway station, which is integrated with the airport, to central station and thereafter a 5 minute walk from there to the hotel along the waterfront.I have never come across such friendly staff before and they could not do enough for you.The hotel was faultless and worthy of 5 star status which I am sure it will be when they have got their restaurant finished.We had a top floor room which had great views so I would recommend anyone going there to ask for a room on this floor as rooms from 2- 7 may well have obstructed views although I could not say for sure.The breakfast display was impressive and whilst mostly continental style they still had bacon and scrambled eggs each day on offer.Amsterdam is a lovely city although I would advise anyone going there for the first time to watch out for cyclists as they think they are god.On two occasions we were at a green light crossing and my wife had to pull me back,as a cyclist came speeding round the corner - they totally ignore red lights and seem to think they have the complete right of way.We were lucky enough to visit the Anne Frank museum at a quiet period and it is well worth a visit.We also went to the Ice Bar and whilst I enjoyed the experience my wife was none too impressed - you had to put these large thermal jackets on with hoods and gloves and they piled you into this freezing strongroom type bar where you enjoyed a couple of drinks whilst watching a Heineken ad in 3D.I feel they should restrict their numbers to 12 as it could get really claustrophobic in there if you were that way inclined.Our highlight of the stay was a trip to Zaans Schans which is a little quaint area(like a small village) to the north of Amsterdam where the windmills are.I would not bother with the tour - just take the 391 bus from the bus station on your own time - the buses run every hour there and back and you can wander around at your leisure - the pancake restaurant is worth a visit if you are hungry. Our stay at the hotel made our trip to Amsterdam very memorable and if we returned to the city there is only one place we would stay and that is the Room Mate Aitana.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear DonnieHossack,

'The jewel of Amsterdam'. What an honour to be described in such a way! I have shared your review with our team members, and I can tell you we are all proud to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

At Room Mate we strive for the best and friendliest possible service, and I am happy to read that you experienced your stay the way we intended it to be!

You will be pleased to know that our new restaurant is now open for breakfast and will be open for lunch and dinner shortly, and in the future will also feature a terrace on the deck overlooking the Marina!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back when you return to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable rooms and decent showers. 12.50 for breakfast if it's not included so be careful there. I was perfectly comfortable here, although it was not booked or paid for personally so I have no idea how much they stumped up for it. But that's what it seems to be, to be honest. A corporate hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Alhimself,

thank you for choosing Room Mate Aitana for your visit to Amsterdam. As a new hotel we are striving to be an excellent base for both business and Leisure guests. I am therefore happy to read you had such a comfortable stay with us.

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience, and hope we may welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Modern new hotel a little bit from city centre but lovely view of river. A short walk takes you to central station and city centre locations. You can get trams but it's just as easy walking. Try viola Italian for lunch

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Terry C,

thank you for sharing your comments! I am happy to read you enjoyed the indeed wonderful views from the hotel of the city centre and IJ river. We will see to include Viola in our recommendations, thank you for that tip!

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope we may welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We loved the design and the view. Be sure to stay there if you visit Amsterdam, it is very close to the canals and in a quite area.
Reception and housekeeping staff was really welcoming and helpful, staff does their utmost to make sure your stay is perfect.
Micaela and Adriana were great help, they helped us with a lot of tip. Massimo, on site director, took very well care of us and he told us a lot about Room Mate, he made us so enthousiastic about the concept, next time i will go to a city where there is a room mate i will book there

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Franck D.

How wonderful that you consider Room Mate Aitana to be a Top Hotel. Our design is quite unique and it is great to know it is appreciated so much. I will pass your compliments on to Micaela and Adriana, who I will be sure will be proud to read this just as much as the housekeeping and front office departments!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, we look forward to welcome you back to Room Mate!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, Amsterdam 1013 MM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Prestigia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.