We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed one night in December - it's ok in terms of decor, but nothing special and lacks atmosphere. Fairly bland masquerading as designer. Booked one night but the receptionist insisted it was 2, and would only accept that on proof of my email print-out - however the receptionist the next morning kept talking about me 'amending my booking', like I had caused an inconvenience, not that they had made a mistake! Far too expensive for what it is. Kettle didn't work - a pathetic 2 tea bags and coffee portions. The heating was all over the place - hot and cold all through the night, and the shower was lukewarm. Although the guy who came to replace the kettle and look at the heating (all he could do was bring us another duvet) was very pleasant, and the bar man was nice, I didn't think much of the others. Better places in Amsterdam for half the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear minnowpea,

thank you very much for taking the time and share your opinion of your stay in our hotel. We strive to offer a unique hospitality experience, and I am sorry to read that in your case your expectations were not met. I do very much appreciate the comments you shared, as we can only improve by receiving such valuable feedback.
I would like to assure you that we are constantly evaluating and improving the services we offer, and I will make sure your comments will be taken to heart!

We would very much like a chance to welcome you back to show you our hotel as we intend it to be. Perhaps you can contact me directly to discuss your experience and possible future stay?

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    429
    88
    24
    9
See reviews for
133
672
42
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

10 min from Central Station, so big and confortable, with music and lounge bar at nigth and very quiet in you bedroom.
Looks like travel in the Titanic
We think they need more bikes to rent and renting by hours because this city is to ride a bike!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear MZuniga,

Thank you for sharing your very positive words in reviewing your stay with us! It gives us great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed a comfortable stay and are so positive with regards to our staff. Your comments about the availability of bikes are very much appreciated.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel was absolutely gorgeous - beds really comfy spacious room and central location - will definitely be back. Really friendly staff couldn't do enough to help us out :) can't wait to go back :).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Joanne W,

thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. How wonderful to read that you had such an excellent stay. In particular your comments about our staff are very much appreciated and fill me with pride! I will be sure to share your review with the entire team!

Thank you for staying with us, and perhapt until your next visit?

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a hotel!, makes a nice change from the usual rubbish in Amsterdam. The room was spacious, with flat screen tv with English channels on, the shower was great.
This hotel is easy to find once you know where it is. Come out of the back way (dock side) of central station turn left and after 10 minutes walk you will see a big white building on the right, Room Mate Aitana is just behind there. Walk across the smalll bridge on the right to get to it quicker than the road way.
I got a really good rate on this hotel, once word gets around im sure this hotel will be fully booked up and will be more expensive.
I was only hear for one night, i wish i could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Waynester05,

thank you for naming us the best hotel you have stayed in! We love our guests, and when they are as happy as you are, it fills us with pride!
Let's spread the word, we promise to keep delivering great value and a special experience in Amsterdam.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we look forward to welcome you back with us!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I loved the hotel!! Amazing room and view. Comfortable stay, super friendly staff and great location. Although the bar is a little weird with it hidden away we enjoyed sitting looking out across the water. Would definitely stay again!!!!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Ru_Simmons,

Perfect! What a fantastic way to start your review, thank you for those kind words. I am thrilled to read that you had such a good stay with us, enjoying the water view, relaxing bar and our friendly staff!

It was our pleasure having you stay with us, hopefully we may welcome you back next time you are in Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

we stayed here for 2 night last October, we really liked it, even that it was just opened i guess but the rooms are very modern and nice, the view is great, and it is still a walking distance to everything in the lovely city. the bar is super nice with a lovely bar tender, the foyer is hip and modern and the staff are very friendly.
They can do with more staff for sure, check in and check out time was quite long as there are 2 people doing all of that.
breakfast was quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Wael2011,

thank you for your kind words when you wrote your review of our hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed the special design, large rooms and great views. Your comments on staffing at reception have been taken to heart, and already we have made big improvements there. Thank you for mentioning that!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have booked a room in Aitana when it wasn't open yet. I was a bit worried that I would find a construction site upon arrival... But no, there is an impressive modern building towering over new marina. As a boater I liked the place straightaway. The location is great, just few minutes walk from Central Station and Metro, bit farther away from Old Town but still in walking distance. The lobby is impressive yet warm. The staff is absolutely great! So friendly, enthusiastic and willing to help? No question not answered, no request not dealt with. And all these with smile and kindness. The rooms are big and very airy with windows from the floor to the ceiling. Sadly mine was facing a building not an Amsterdam panorama. But, I have been promised, that next time I will get a room with a view! Beds are comfortable, bathroom with very spacey shower cubicle. Coffee and tea facilities in the room is always a bonus for me. The mini bar was ok and moderately priced. The breakfast was really good and choice of food satisfactory. There is a lobby bar with huge chairs, very comfortable and modern. There is no restaurant though (yet). Not a problem as the staff can order a food for you from nearby restaurant. I will stay there again and I hope to see the same smiling faces which I value more then a view from my room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Zibby K,

What a delight to read your review! We are so happy to know that your stay with us has been to your complete satisfaction. Your compliments regarding our smiling and helpful staff are especially appreciated, and I will be sure to place your review on a special place on our noticeboard for everyone to read!
You will be happy to know that restaurant I-Dock will be in full service in a matter of weeks, inlcuding a lovely terrace at the Marina!
Please feel free to contact us for a room overlooking both the Marina and Amsterdam. I am sure as a boater you will appreciate this view!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we would love to welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,491 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.