We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, Amsterdam 1013 MM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Excellent :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel was absolutely gorgeous - beds really comfy spacious room and central location - will definitely be back. Really friendly staff couldn't do enough to help us out :) can't wait to go back :).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Joanne W,

thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. How wonderful to read that you had such an excellent stay. In particular your comments about our staff are very much appreciated and fill me with pride! I will be sure to share your review with the entire team!

Thank you for staying with us, and perhapt until your next visit?

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    93
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
167
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a hotel!, makes a nice change from the usual rubbish in Amsterdam. The room was spacious, with flat screen tv with English channels on, the shower was great.
This hotel is easy to find once you know where it is. Come out of the back way (dock side) of central station turn left and after 10 minutes walk you will see a big white building on the right, Room Mate Aitana is just behind there. Walk across the smalll bridge on the right to get to it quicker than the road way.
I got a really good rate on this hotel, once word gets around im sure this hotel will be fully booked up and will be more expensive.
I was only hear for one night, i wish i could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Waynester05,

thank you for naming us the best hotel you have stayed in! We love our guests, and when they are as happy as you are, it fills us with pride!
Let's spread the word, we promise to keep delivering great value and a special experience in Amsterdam.

Thank you again for your kind words, and we look forward to welcome you back with us!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I loved the hotel!! Amazing room and view. Comfortable stay, super friendly staff and great location. Although the bar is a little weird with it hidden away we enjoyed sitting looking out across the water. Would definitely stay again!!!!!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Ru_Simmons,

Perfect! What a fantastic way to start your review, thank you for those kind words. I am thrilled to read that you had such a good stay with us, enjoying the water view, relaxing bar and our friendly staff!

It was our pleasure having you stay with us, hopefully we may welcome you back next time you are in Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

we stayed here for 2 night last October, we really liked it, even that it was just opened i guess but the rooms are very modern and nice, the view is great, and it is still a walking distance to everything in the lovely city. the bar is super nice with a lovely bar tender, the foyer is hip and modern and the staff are very friendly.
They can do with more staff for sure, check in and check out time was quite long as there are 2 people doing all of that.
breakfast was quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Wael2011,

thank you for your kind words when you wrote your review of our hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed the special design, large rooms and great views. Your comments on staffing at reception have been taken to heart, and already we have made big improvements there. Thank you for mentioning that!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have booked a room in Aitana when it wasn't open yet. I was a bit worried that I would find a construction site upon arrival... But no, there is an impressive modern building towering over new marina. As a boater I liked the place straightaway. The location is great, just few minutes walk from Central Station and Metro, bit farther away from Old Town but still in walking distance. The lobby is impressive yet warm. The staff is absolutely great! So friendly, enthusiastic and willing to help? No question not answered, no request not dealt with. And all these with smile and kindness. The rooms are big and very airy with windows from the floor to the ceiling. Sadly mine was facing a building not an Amsterdam panorama. But, I have been promised, that next time I will get a room with a view! Beds are comfortable, bathroom with very spacey shower cubicle. Coffee and tea facilities in the room is always a bonus for me. The mini bar was ok and moderately priced. The breakfast was really good and choice of food satisfactory. There is a lobby bar with huge chairs, very comfortable and modern. There is no restaurant though (yet). Not a problem as the staff can order a food for you from nearby restaurant. I will stay there again and I hope to see the same smiling faces which I value more then a view from my room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Zibby K,

What a delight to read your review! We are so happy to know that your stay with us has been to your complete satisfaction. Your compliments regarding our smiling and helpful staff are especially appreciated, and I will be sure to place your review on a special place on our noticeboard for everyone to read!
You will be happy to know that restaurant I-Dock will be in full service in a matter of weeks, inlcuding a lovely terrace at the Marina!
Please feel free to contact us for a room overlooking both the Marina and Amsterdam. I am sure as a boater you will appreciate this view!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we would love to welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I would like to thanks all the staff, very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, with a big confortable bed and very clean. The hotel is about 10 minutes by the centraal station. The breakfast is also nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Michael F.

thank you for your kind words in reviewing our hotel! It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many things during your stay with us. I hope you hade a wonderful time in Amsterdam, and hope we may welcome you back next time you are in Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A friend and I were visiting Amsterdam and we had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. Its a fairly new hotel opened 2013 but almost everything is in place. The only thing we were made aware off, was that the restaurant has not yet opened, but they do serve breakfast and it was to our liking. I was most impressed by the service at the hotel as they tried at all times to assist guest and they were always plenty of people to ask anything from. The hotel location is also great as it is near the central station. I would recommend this hotel for tourists but I also saw plenty business people at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear ProudlyNA,

what a pleasure to read your review of our hotel! It gives us great satisfaction to read that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. You will be pleased to read that the restaurant and bar will be opened shortly, and we expect the marina to be functioning in the course of 2014!

Thank you for your stay with us, we would love to welcome you back at Room Mate!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, Amsterdam 1013 MM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, EasyToBook, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.