We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New on the scene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New on the scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have booked a room in Aitana when it wasn't open yet. I was a bit worried that I would find a construction site upon arrival... But no, there is an impressive modern building towering over new marina. As a boater I liked the place straightaway. The location is great, just few minutes walk from Central Station and Metro, bit farther away from Old Town but still in walking distance. The lobby is impressive yet warm. The staff is absolutely great! So friendly, enthusiastic and willing to help? No question not answered, no request not dealt with. And all these with smile and kindness. The rooms are big and very airy with windows from the floor to the ceiling. Sadly mine was facing a building not an Amsterdam panorama. But, I have been promised, that next time I will get a room with a view! Beds are comfortable, bathroom with very spacey shower cubicle. Coffee and tea facilities in the room is always a bonus for me. The mini bar was ok and moderately priced. The breakfast was really good and choice of food satisfactory. There is a lobby bar with huge chairs, very comfortable and modern. There is no restaurant though (yet). Not a problem as the staff can order a food for you from nearby restaurant. I will stay there again and I hope to see the same smiling faces which I value more then a view from my room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Zibby K,

What a delight to read your review! We are so happy to know that your stay with us has been to your complete satisfaction. Your compliments regarding our smiling and helpful staff are especially appreciated, and I will be sure to place your review on a special place on our noticeboard for everyone to read!
You will be happy to know that restaurant I-Dock will be in full service in a matter of weeks, inlcuding a lovely terrace at the Marina!
Please feel free to contact us for a room overlooking both the Marina and Amsterdam. I am sure as a boater you will appreciate this view!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we would love to welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    169
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
58
274
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I would like to thanks all the staff, very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, with a big confortable bed and very clean. The hotel is about 10 minutes by the centraal station. The breakfast is also nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Michael F.

thank you for your kind words in reviewing our hotel! It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many things during your stay with us. I hope you hade a wonderful time in Amsterdam, and hope we may welcome you back next time you are in Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A friend and I were visiting Amsterdam and we had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. Its a fairly new hotel opened 2013 but almost everything is in place. The only thing we were made aware off, was that the restaurant has not yet opened, but they do serve breakfast and it was to our liking. I was most impressed by the service at the hotel as they tried at all times to assist guest and they were always plenty of people to ask anything from. The hotel location is also great as it is near the central station. I would recommend this hotel for tourists but I also saw plenty business people at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear ProudlyNA,

what a pleasure to read your review of our hotel! It gives us great satisfaction to read that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. You will be pleased to read that the restaurant and bar will be opened shortly, and we expect the marina to be functioning in the course of 2014!

Thank you for your stay with us, we would love to welcome you back at Room Mate!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I travel a lot to Amsterdam and often i experienced of bad service, In Room Mate the staff is very helpful was always ready to help with a smile. Rooms are very clean, design is different but very nice. Make sure you ask for a room with a view on the high floor

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Simon A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you had such a nice stay with us! At Room Mate we strive to offer only excellent service, and reading your experience I am happy to see that you experienced it this way!
It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I arranged a surprise trip to Amsterdam for my husband's birthday. Right from my initial booking to confirming the number of rooms we needed, through to our stay and check out, I could not have asked for a better customer service.
There were 9 of us in total and we all rate the hotel and staff as top class. Paloma and Micaela simply couldn't have done enough to made our stay any better. Thank you!
The location is great. It's a little bit away from all the hussle and bussle which is perfect and a very enjoyable stroll through the shopping area with great bars and restaurnats to Dam Square etc
I look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view from higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Julie C,

What a delight to read your enthusiastic review of our stay with us! At Room Mate we strive for our guests to enjoy excellent service, and I am happy to read that your experience was so positive. I will share your review with our entire team, especially Paloma and Micaela who I know will read it with pride.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We would love to welcome you back with us on your next visit to Amsterdam. To receive a direct discount on your next visit, please use the action code 'Aitanafan' on our website when making a reservation.

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just came back after three nights stayed in this hotel. The location was nice, 10 mins walk to central station, the area is quiet at night, and you cannot hear any noise from the train. The room was spacious, big window with great city view, bathroom with rain forest shower, but the room we stayed without a bath, asked receptionist, got the answer as most rooms are like that, some of the rooms has bath/shower combined, so we stayed where we were. The hotel was only opened from September, modern design but gym and restaurant are not finished yet. At night the room got a bit cold, tried to turn up the AC but not working properly, called down to reception, was told the hotel still new, some of the AC not working very well, but got extra blanket instead.
Pros: Nice location, Quiet at night, good value.
Cons: Not finished yet, AC not working properly.
Over all, it was a nice stay, could be better when the hotel is fully finished. Would recommend to a friend stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear tigerprawns,

thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay in our hotel! I am happy to read that you had an overall good experience and that you would recommend us to a friend!
You mention some improvements that we could make, thank you for those comments. Only by hearing from our guests first hand can we improve our product and services.

You will be pleased to know that our Fitness area is operational, and the restaurant will open in a short while. We even will have a marina and outside terrace opening in the course of 2014!

It was our pleasure having you as our guest, and we would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is at a great location. Approx 10 mins walk from the central station. You need to call the staff to get the coordinates if you plan to drive. It's on a man made island hence does not show up on GPS.
The staff and front office folks are friendly and helpful.
The management attend to guests to get their views. Which I see as positive.
Room was spacious. Tastefully decorated. Free WiFi.
Scope for improvement with room cleaning team and their timing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Prestigia, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.