We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel, close to city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel, close to city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at the end of our Europe vacation. After a long drive from Germany, it was easy to find and we found it to be very modern, clean and comfortable. The rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We were on the top floor and had an excellent view over parts of Amsterdam. The hotel is located within a 10 minute walk of the city center. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. A very good price and we would stay the again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    213
    52
    11
    5
See reviews for
75
341
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A shame that the Aitana hotel acts like a 5 star hotel and cannot offer the quality of a hotel with that category.
We asked for a room with views but rooms do not look like in the pictures. Small bathrooms, hardly without gels, shampoo and the basics, very expensive for what they offer. They don´t do the beds at night and in the morning they woke us up 3 times.
I must say the stuff is very kind and helped as with everything. But too expensive for such a normal hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

great hotel, location and service. Rooms are very clean. i recommend this hotel, management even ask you at breakfast about your comments; great service!
Didn't know room mate but for sure will be back next month!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip. Years ago I had a fulfilling experience with Room Mate Grace New York hotel. So I didn't hesitate to stay here. The price is fair with the service you get. It is very near to the city center. You can walk or its 8 euros by taxi to Dam Square. The staff first had some problems finding my reservation and I had to wait but then it was ok. The rooms are very clean and designed in a very minimalistic way. Very comfy beds. The staff was not so professional when comparing with other hotels but they are helpful. I guess the more they get proper trainings it will be much better. But they should strongly be invested on. No matter how cool the hotels and their designs are, the people we get service from is what makes the stays special. During my stay my biggest problem was I couldn’t reach the reception from my room, at all (in the rooms there was not even a sign showing the number of the reception or any emergency call). No one answered at any time. I finally went downstairs and spoke with the duty manager which if I’m not wrong his name was Alfonso (it was the evening of 15th of October). He was so helpful that he just made me stop thinking about any lack of service I was facing.So I would like to thank him for being so helpful. And as a result, this hotel is very new and I am sure in the near future this hotel will have much better service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. The concept and architectural touches are unbelievable. The room was very spacious. However, the hotel as well as the personnel needs more fine tuning/training. First and foremost, every single taxi driver we asked to take us to the hotel had no idea where it was. So make sure you travel with a map to be able to show taxi drivers the location of the hotel. I am not sure how but we were staying at one room but the computer was showing that we were staying in another. We found that out upon checking out. The plumbing was not working well, thus we had bursts of cold/hot water periodically while taking the shower. The front personnel was extremely nice, but not very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is opened two months now.There is a cool funky entrance manned by young enthusiastic staff.There were errors made in my bill whilst registering but it was quickly corrected when I produced my confirmations.The location is a 5minute walk from central station and v easy to find. We're happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night during our trip to Amsterdam. The hotel was amazing! New, modern, clean and unique! The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel room was spotless, fantastic shower and amazing big comfy cosy bed! The only downside to this hotel is that its around a 15 minute walk to the centre of Amsterdam. A taxi from the hotel to the centre of amsterdam cost around 7 euro before midnight and was 15 euro after midnight. Also the drinks in the bar were abit pricey, but overall very very very pleased and would deffinatley visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Prestigia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotel.de so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.