We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Aitana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excelent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Fresh decor, nice place, helpful staff. The lounge is the best. I recommend and would stay again for sure. Room was nice and confortable, verynclean and offered a lot of space. Vry nice locatin as well, waljimg distance from the Central Station and just fews blocks from de channel area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    301
    169
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
57
272
10
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel during my visit to Amsterdam,
I must say that this has been one of the best hotels that i had the pleasure of staying in. It was a pleasant surprise from the moment i stepped into the lobby, exquisite and modern interior with a creative twist. The Rooms were big with stunning river views. Great location, close to everything. Definitely staying there next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in the hotel several weeks after it opens, the hotel was not ready and the staff was confused and unpleasant. Initially they did not find our reservation, finally we received our room, the furniture in the room are very minimalistic, (not sure if this is their style). The food in breakfast was low level and boring, they did not have cappuccino and the coffee probably from the cheapest brand. When we asked for more bags of instant coffee to our room we were told that they ran out of coffee. I am not a big guy, but when I sat on the chair in the room, it broke bringing me down to the ground; they could not replace the chair since they said they ran out of chairs.
Overall, very bad experience and you should avoid this place until you get some more positive review

Room Tip: choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_principe, General Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to read about your experience in our hotel. We would like to reinsure you that training measures have been taken to improve our service at reception desk and the quality of our breakfast.

The room furniture which you refer to with the term “minimalistic” is indeed a design choice which reflects the expression of our architect.

I would like to thank you for your comments which are extremely helpful to improve our services and hope to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Massimo Del Principe
Director Room Mate Aitana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Aitiana. The room on the 12th floor is amazing; very light, spacious, fantastic mattress (!) and beautiful view! Location is quite good as well, just behind the central station, this means the canal belt area is a 10 minute walk. But if you would like to take a tram, it's a 5 minute walk to the central station. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Good wifi connection all over the hotel and I have been told by the hotel staff, in the near future they will work with a big Dutch provider to allow hotel guests to have wifi/internet all over the city! A great service! I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay in the newest hotel from Room Mate, the Aitana in Amsterdam. Built on a new island behind central station, the hotel is very quiet yet extremely close to everything. It is no more than a 5-7 minute walk from one of the cutest and most picturesque parts of Amsterdam with tons of options for food, drink and shopping. It sits on its own small marina and excellent views both directions over the water and city. We'd definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Recently opened, it is absolutely convenient: five minutes walk to Central Station, affordable, great design at the common areas, simple bedrooms but with an amazing bed where you don´t want to get out of it!!!
Very nice staff and cool atmosphere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just spent the weekend in Aitana and it was great. The room was big and beatifull. The bathroom was great. We loved the breakfast. Kind and very professional staff. Walking distance to the canals, Dam Square, Central Station... Great quality/price relation and this is not easy in a expensive citty as Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Prestigia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Aitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.