We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lai & Wai - Asian Bistro

Lai & Wai - Asian Bistro
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 4-10, Amsterdam 1012 RZ, The Netherlands
+(31)0206223800
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1,048 of 2,147 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese
Description: The recipes in our bistro are brought together by three families: Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese. At Lai & Wai you can taste different Asian cuisines: Classic Chinese platters, Korean Beef Bulgogi, Vietnamese Pho, Japanese Sushi, Indonesian Rice Table and more.
Restaurant details
Description: The recipes in our bistro are brought together by three families: Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese. At Lai & Wai you can taste different Asian cuisines: Classic Chinese platters, Korean Beef Bulgogi, Vietnamese Pho, Japanese Sushi, Indonesian Rice Table and more.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Good food, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice ambiance, delicious food, very friendly, good and attentive staff, good location, big selection, prices absolutely alright

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    15
    5
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
523 helpful votes 523 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We only chose this restaurant for it’s short distance to the hotel we stayed in.
When we arrived at about 8pm, the restaurant was quite empty. Staff were very friendly. The restaurant has a modern feel and the prices are on the high side. Cooking standard is good but value for money is poor. One of the dishes we ordered was a seafood hot pot costing 21.5 euro. There were only 5 small pieces of prawn, 5 small pieces of squid, the rest was bulked up by lots of bean curds. Portions could be more generous. Especially with high prices restaurant should make sure they deliver good value for money. Sadly Lai Wai fails on this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

There are many quality restaurants in A'dam, for Asian food this is right up there with the best.
Have been several times and never been let down, seafood soup is a must try.
Good price, great food, great location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aussie Couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This would have to be one of the best Asian Bistro Restaurants in Amsterdam the food was delicious and quite an extensive menu, and they have excellent staff very attentive, Quin who is co-owner of this excellent Restaurant spends a great deal of her time making sure that the food is prepared to traditional recipes and this is what she has done, top this off with excellent wines a very professional run Restaurant this is definitely a must visit in Amsterdam.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delightful Asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ate here late one evening after a long day, so we just wanted something simple. We decided just to order some of the starters and share them as small plates. I agree, a nice list of well priced wines. The food was excellent and our server commented on how we had selected items from different Asian cultures - Thai, Chinese, and Viet Namese. Everything was excellent with nice portions, very well prepared and seasoned. Although we only had a small sample of their menu, we found the food and service to be excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lai & Wai - Asian Bistro also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lai & Wai - Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lai & Wai - Asian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.