We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a short visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Cheese Museum

Amsterdam Cheese Museum
Prinsengracht 112, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Attraction Details
Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good enough for a short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Visited the museum during Christmas 2013. Shop was busy but staff were still friendly helpful and patient. Bot the black pepper and truffle. Only regret was that we bot too little!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    53
    21
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cheese Museum??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Well, I read other reviews on this place and when they said it was small, ITS SMALL. It had several unique items on how cheese was made, but its just a store that sells cheese. Again, its close to Anne Frank's house and if you are looking to kill some time, stop in, its FREE.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Museum? Uh, no, this is a cheese shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is NOT a museum. It IS a cheese store that offers lots of samples and sells many different cheese varities. Contrary to what some reviewers have stated, the prices here are NOT low; on the contrary, the prices here are some of the highest I’ve seen in Holland. More on that later.
The shop is charming enough. The personnel are friendly and encourage visitors to sample as much as they want. We tried 10 or so different cheeses and did decide to buy (yes, overpriced) a piece of pesto cheese (that just is not available elsewhere) that was quite tasty.
Do not buy the normal Goudas, belegens, goat or Old Amsterdam cheeses here. Ever. Buy these types at the street markets held all over town every day except Sundays. Without a doubt buying at the street markets will result in minimum 25% savings. Yep, I did buy a lot of cheese from the street markets and paid a lot less than at the “museum”.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must for a break to Amsterdam, something quite brilliantly different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Cheese Museum is located opposite Ann Franks house and is a must when visiting Amsterdam, especially if you love Cheese!. The Ground floor is a normal sized shop with friendly staff dressed in the full dutch attire, clogs the lot. There are loads of different cheeses free to taste in which you are encouraged to do so! The staff will happily inform you all about each Cheese and prompt you to visit the actual museum downstairs, again free, where you are shown how the Cheese is made etc. There is also photo opportunity with dutch dress up. A funny 30 minute expierence well worth doing!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best place to buy cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Yes its not in our sence of the word a museum however no other cheese shop and believe me we visited most around Amsterdam did not do any thing like this so in our mind they deserved all our business.

We bought several pieces and the girl was very helpful when I asked if we could cut the pieces up and re VAC them as we wanted to give them to a friend so she could make a cheese board and also ourselves.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Cheese Museum also viewed

 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam Cheese Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Cheese Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.