We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Close, But Yet So Far” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York Pizza

New York Pizza
Spui 2, 1012 WZ, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,202 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“So Close, But Yet So Far”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

So, first let me say I am a very critical person when it comes to NY Pizza. I should be, I'm from NYC and have had literally thousands of slices, from "NY Pizza" joints all over the globe.
This is by no means authentic NY Pizza, but it comes pretty darn close. It's more like a much better version of Papa Johns, then grabbing a slice at Delizia on 73rd.
The pro's: Clean, friendly, tons of choices, big triangle slices, seemed fresh.
The con's: Conveyer belt pizza (did not see a pizza oven), semolina on the bottom, Papa John's style crust.

Overall not a bad place to get a good slice, I've had worse. The best thing is that they don't put Mayo on it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    6
    12
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Huge slices!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The slices are nice and big... you'd find all the toppings that you can possibly think of and there's something for the vegetarian's too!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“best peperoni pizza in amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

after hours of walking, visiting tons of museums, having a smoke or two we happent to run into this littlw restaurant and thank god we did. the employees r the best and the peperoni pizza was PERFECT! i can still feel the taste in my mouth! miss it a lot!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“True NY pizza in the Netherlands!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ate this pizza like 3x during our short stay. They have Ben and Jerry's too! Clean, great food. It was in a great location near shopping and more

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Tastes amazing when you're drunk - nice but not the best when sober! So, if you're on a night out and a bit peckish, it's the best place to go! Staff are a bit moody and unfriendly though, but what do you expect in a place such as this - cheap and handy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Pizza also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to New York Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.