We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, delicious, perfect for post travel treat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couscousine - CLOSED

Couscousine
Westerstraat 40, 1015 MK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 (0) 624204674
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, delicious, perfect for post travel treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Arrived in Amsterdam exhausted after spending the day travelling from Bled. Walked around for an hour with the hotel's recommended list, and stumbled across this little gem - not on the list actually. We had a delicious meal. The hosts were friendly and helpful, the service was neither too fast or too slow. We shared the hommus entrée - really good. Then enjoyed the lamb tagine and the chicken. Can recommend this restaurant, what a great evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“We tried hard to love it, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Okay, if you are going for a nice local experience in the Jordan area of Amsterdam, CousCousine is a good choice. Their promotional material points out that they received a 9.5 on a scale of 10 from some famous reviewer. Well, that must have been a very good day for them. The proprietor was very nice. His recommendation of a Moroccan Cabernet/Merlot blended wine was quite nice. The cheese ball appetizer was bland. There was cheese in it? We ordered hummus as an appetizer. Nice quantity of hummus with two triangles of Moroccan bread. Two little pieces. Certainly not home made either. In fact, we did see the proprietor go across the street to the grocery story right after we ordered our appetizer. Now, my wife's sea bass was excellent. Very nice curry covering on it. Oh my. My duck was dry. Pretty tasteless. Since the restaurant was recommended to us and since we saw that great review, we really wanted to like it. And..... we thought it was okay. If we lived locally, we would give it one more chance, but we suspect our review would be the same.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly, very tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went here with my husband using a Groupon. You would never have known we were there on a 'cheap' night out. The service was very friendly and the owner? was very chatty, but not in an intrusive way. The couscous was phenomenal -- best I've ever had; my husband's steak with smoked gravy was a bit too smokey for his tastes. This is a cozy little neighborhood restaurant that made us feel like neighbors even though we aren't. Can't wait to go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“delicious food and you'll be treated with authentic care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Try the food yourself, it is delicious. I had e.g. the slow-cooked lamb, tender and very tasty. As an aperitif we had a bubbles/martini(?), nice. Our host was a real host (owner?): well informed, charming and had real attention for the guests. A lovely evening near the Prinsengracht and Noordermarkt!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner of Champions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We roamed around Amsterdam for what seemed like an hour before stumbling upon this place... what a treat! Our server (who I presume was also the owner) was phenomenal, the place was SO quaint, and the food was amazing. We are vegetarian and the veggie cous cous was the best we have ever had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Couscousine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couscousine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.