We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant View

Restaurant View
Oosterdokskade 133, 1011 dl Amsterdam, The Netherlands
203708059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,508 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Drogheda
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This restaurant has remembered a fundamental principle of food - one that other restaurants forget at their peril. Eating out is supposed to be fun! Various dishes come by on a conveyer belt on colour coded plates (yellow for chicken, black for beef etc) and you choose what you want and then cook it on a hotplate at your table. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Oh, and the restaurant is well named as the view across the water by night was nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    9
    11
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great concept, excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant during a 5 day vacation in Amsterdam in August 2013. From the moment that we walked in, the service was excellent and very attentive, in a friendly (not over the top) manner. We really enjoyed the concept of selecting our food as it passed by our table and the fact that we were able to cook it exactly to our liking and eat it hot at the pace that suited us.

The location is great, just a few minutes walk from Central station along the waterfront, and the view over the city was excellent.

It was easily the best value for money that we received whilst in Amsterdam - under €35 per person, including unlimited red or white wine and beer.

We will most certainly return on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just not it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Went here yesterday for dinner. The place looks great and the island 'Oosterdokseiland' deserves another good restaurant. Unfortunately this was not a good one.

The food passes by on the belt; kind of funny. However, as the food is passing a lot of tables, the last table in the row might be getting the left-overs only. Also, not all food was covered making it not very hygienic. Both the salad buffet as the dessert buffet was full with pre-fab food fresh out of the box. Not good. The bar was well equipped.

Last point; please get your A/C turned on or fixed. Of course; outside it was hot too but indoors with this grill pan on your table making it extra hot was just too much. I thought this place was newly build?

Good luck improving, I might be back one day in winter.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Montana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Smiled the whole time...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Something about the place is just amusing. The concept of having small plates of food on a conveyor belt, traveling past diners who grab and grill whatever they want, itself brought smiles. It was easy to see returning guests knew which table to secure--the ones closest to the open air prep kitchen. Widest choice is there; bypassed items end up on the table of the hungriest at the end.
The staff is the most attentive and helpful, so much so that they made you smile. If you didn't get what you really wanted or needed, it's your fault, not theirs.
The restaurant is aptly named. The view is spectacular especially of the city of Amsterdam.
Easy walk from Central Station and it is next to the new Doubletree.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Amazing view amazing food yes you have cook yourself but for €35 you can eat and drink as much as you like.. Will be coming here again....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant View also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Restaurant View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.