We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yu Family Kitchen

Yu Family Kitchen
Kolksteeg 1A, 1012PT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 20 420 9177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 2,578 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Chinese, Noodle, Asian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: As the name already suggests, Yu Family Kitchen is a family-owned business. In our kitchen guests can get quick and healthy tofu, chicken, shrimps and beef meals. Stay tuned for our upcoming specials!
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spotted this small restaurant (it is also a take away) while strolling aimlessly from Dam square to the centeral station. It is Located in the side alley of the nieuwendijk street (main road from central station). It is a no frill restaurant run by a middle aged and friendly chinese couple. The menu is limited and simple but the food tasted great. It is great value for money, especially if you are on a tightly budgeted trip. Me and my husband had a sweet corn soup, Gungpao chicken with egg fried rice, chiken curry with fried rice and a bottle of water, all for 20 euros. Highly recommended. I would go there again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    45
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good and cheap chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

In a side alley of the nieuwendijk street (parallel to the dam (main road from central station). Around other fast food like wok to walk and burger bar I decided to try this tiny restaurant. I like asian food and know how it has to taste. And I was not disappointed. I ordered the Gungbao Chicken with Rice for 7,95€. The staff warned me it would be spicy but that's okay for me. At that time it was a little busy there so the waitress asked me if I would like to walk around and come back in 5 minute. They have a few seats inside and some table and chairs outside. The alley is a but busy so some people tend to stare on your food ;-) After waiting time I got served my meal. Large portion and with a good mixture of noodle, chicken and vegetable. Tasted very delicious and spicy. I was asked twice if not too spicy... If you like chinese fast food don't miss this small jewel.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cheap food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Quick, large portions and good value for money. Significantly better than their money grabbing neighbours wok to wild.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This tiny restaurant has hearty Chinese meals that taste great for short money in Amsterdam. The staff is helpful and friendly, and a few means here keeps costs of a vacation under control.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fast authentic chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stumbled upon this little cafe on the way to Amsterdam Central station. Neatly tucked in an alley, with simple decor but nice ambiance. With a reasonable menu and price, I decided to walk in.
I ordered the (7) Yu Xiang prawns with rice and hot tea, cost 9,45 euro. Portion was generous and Wow!! it was delicious!! I will go back there again if i am in Ams.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yu Family Kitchen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Yu Family Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yu Family Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.