We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipster brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bakers & Roasters

Bakers & Roasters
Eerste Jacob van Campenstraat 54 | 1072BH, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 2,507 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hipster brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The brunch is varied and tasty. Lovely cappuchino and the Huevos rancheros is devined. You need to be early or patient though since the line-up is a bit much.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    42
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice start for day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Went there on 2 June. We were early and there were few people there. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The juices and coffee were very nice and the meals well presented. I had the eggs Florentene which was a filling breakfast. The hollandaise was a bit unbalanced overwhelming the other tastes but I look forward to returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous service food ok!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Webt there for a late breakfast, the atmosphere is fabulous so is the service all staff smiling and helpful! The only hic might be the food. I had a benedict which I found the sauce really lemony. But overall a perfect combination that's maybe why I did nit complaint about it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Best Breakfast in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Bakers and Roasters is our favorite breakfast restaurant in Amsterdam. The Kiwi Breakfast special and Huevos Rancheros are so good, we come back about every other week. The New Zealand staff are very friendly and their baked goods are also a treat, especially the blueberry muffins. Get there early as the tables fill up fast.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait for a table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place is popular ever since it opened. And rightfully so, the portions are huge, the food is DE-LI-CI-OUS and the crowd is fun-loving and mixed. They are close-up located to the famous Albert Cuyp market, the museum area and the Heineken Experience. The place is small, and the table very close to each other, so not a place for a first or a serious conversation, the acoustics can be better, but still everybody can overhead what you say. In case you have to wait (most of the time), you can sit on the pavement in between bikes and cars. The street is relatively quiet, and when the sun shines, it is not too bad to wait till they call out your name. The staff does not all speak Dutch, but are diverse and super friendly. The restaurant features in a recent Jamie Oliver article, but believe me when I say this is much better. Food is fresh, well-presented, bit pricey, but one dish is more than enough. Also try their cakes, baked with love!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakers & Roasters also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bakers & Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakers & Roasters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.