We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice start for day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bakers & Roasters

Bakers & Roasters
Eerste Jacob van Campenstraat 54 | 1072BH, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice start for day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Went there on 2 June. We were early and there were few people there. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The juices and coffee were very nice and the meals well presented. I had the eggs Florentene which was a filling breakfast. The hollandaise was a bit unbalanced overwhelming the other tastes but I look forward to returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fabulous service food ok!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Webt there for a late breakfast, the atmosphere is fabulous so is the service all staff smiling and helpful! The only hic might be the food. I had a benedict which I found the sauce really lemony. But overall a perfect combination that's maybe why I did nit complaint about it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Breakfast in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Bakers and Roasters is our favorite breakfast restaurant in Amsterdam. The Kiwi Breakfast special and Huevos Rancheros are so good, we come back about every other week. The New Zealand staff are very friendly and their baked goods are also a treat, especially the blueberry muffins. Get there early as the tables fill up fast.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait for a table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place is popular ever since it opened. And rightfully so, the portions are huge, the food is DE-LI-CI-OUS and the crowd is fun-loving and mixed. They are close-up located to the famous Albert Cuyp market, the museum area and the Heineken Experience. The place is small, and the table very close to each other, so not a place for a first or a serious conversation, the acoustics can be better, but still everybody can overhead what you say. In case you have to wait (most of the time), you can sit on the pavement in between bikes and cars. The street is relatively quiet, and when the sun shines, it is not too bad to wait till they call out your name. The staff does not all speak Dutch, but are diverse and super friendly. The restaurant features in a recent Jamie Oliver article, but believe me when I say this is much better. Food is fresh, well-presented, bit pricey, but one dish is more than enough. Also try their cakes, baked with love!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We ate at Bakers and Roasters on a rainy Thursday morning. Everything from the coffee to the fresh-pressed juice to the food was delicious. The staff was all really nice and we reminisced about this yummy breakfast for the next three weeks while traveling Europe. I wish this was in my town!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakers & Roasters also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bakers & Roasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakers & Roasters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.