We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best breakfast in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte - Caffe' Italiano

Al Ponte - Caffe' Italiano
Meeuwenlaan 2, 1021 HR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
06 4208 7482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Venezia, Italia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

pleasant surprise, even if in the place is a stone's throw from the station is very quiet and very charming, with elegant tables in front of the channel with an unusual view of the city. The ingredients are really good and genuine, almost impossible to find same in the all city. Prices are in line with the service offered. Definitely the best breakfast you can do in the town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    36
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a difference coffee can make”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I used to think that I had fallen out of love with coffee; it often seemed so bitter. For some reason, the barista at Al Ponte's in Amsterdam convinced me that this had to do with the low quality coffee that is often used in cafés. Absolutely true: Al Ponte's coffees are a delight of taste and both strength and smoothness. Maybe it needs real Italians, actually Italian ladies, to brew good coffee.
On top of this, the site is wonderful: a large stretch of water in front of you, a wide sky .. the world's your oyster.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best espresso in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Every morning before I go to work I have 2 espresso's at this wonderful italian kiosk. I guarantee you will not find a place in Amsterdam which serves a better espresso! Complemented with the homemade 'grandma's recipe' cake and wonderful conversation with Silvia, the owner of
Al Ponte, it is all you need to get you in a good mood for the rest of the day. For regulars (like me) she has a coffee-'strippenkaart' (buy 5 get one for free). And don't even get me started on the sandwiches, there's a lot of them and they all taste amazing.

I love it there, it's my sanctuary.

Tom Bijnen

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The only place i can go and ask for "the usual"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Love this place, great atmosphere, amazing view and the owner, Sylvia, always starts a friendly conversation with you. She will urge you to take your coffee in a real cup and not a take away cup. "you will taste the difference!". Take it from me, take your time for her coffee, you wont regret. Simple tasty homemade sandwiches (bresaola!!!) and cake after her grandmothers recipe (must try!!). Wether you have to time to take a seat an enjoy the view or you are rushing to take the next ferry to grand central (she can make a macchiato in less than a minute!) this place is a must visit to Amsterdam-Noord.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a wonderful place! Just a few minutes off Central Station, having a free ride on the ferry to the Ijplein, stepped out and found this little treasure. Excellent sandwiches, great coffee, wonderful service. A different view on Amsterdam.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Ponte - Caffe' Italiano also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Al Ponte - Caffe' Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Ponte - Caffe' Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.