We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to metro and nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Easy access to metro and nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Celebrated my birthday in Amsterdam, stayed in Hampton by hilton staff was kind to give complementary cake!!. Breakfast is very good you can make your own waffles have good variety as well.Just 1 minute walk to metro.Area nearby is very nice and calm compare to other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    217
    68
    14
    10
See reviews for
101
144
17
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, rooms are very clean, have airconditioning, free wifi but the beds are a little hard. It also has a free safe, which is large enough for all your valuables. No refrigerator or mini bar. Very large windows with lots of light. Ask for a room at the square side of the hotel, it has the nicest view!
Good location to visit Amsterdam with a train and subway station next door. The surroundings are safe, nice and quiet despite the station close by. There is all sorts of entertainment in the neighborhood, cinema, shops, restaurants, concerthalls and the Ajax football stadium.
Breakfast area is a little small and becomes overcrowded when the hotel is fully booked.
Overall a very good experience!

Room Tip: Rooms at the frontside of the hotel have a nice view on the square and station
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I visit this hotel several times per month (sometimes 1x/week) since 2012. My company now has a negotiated rate here which gives a lot more consistency from a price perspective, but I can't really complain.

Whether you're visiting offices in Amsterdam-Zuidoost or you're looking for a very convenient connection to the center of Amsterdam or Schiphol, this hotel is a good choice. It's steps away from the Amsterdam Bijlmer station which has connections to Schiphol every 15 minutes (12 -13 minute ride with one stop only) and it's on the Metro (GVB) for Amsterdam. Obviously, there are other connections to the rest of the Netherlands' national rail (NS).

The rooms are consistently clean with all of the same amenities (it's either 2 full-size beds or 1 king size). There a lot of TV channels from several languages, including HD versions of the BBC channels. My only complaint is that the Audio Description (for the hearing impaired) is on by default and I can never figure out how to turn it off, even after a few years of visiting.

The bathroom and shower are fine, but I have had several rooms where the water doesn't drain well or at all from the shower. Since I come up for usually one night only, it's very convenient that they provide dispensers for hand soap, body wash, shampoo and conditioner. I just throw a change of clothes in my work backpack, a toothbrush/toothpaste and comb and I'm fine. The iron and ironing board are always in good working order.

The free breakfast buffet is fine, but it NEVER changes ... ever! I did notice last week that they added a waffle iron (really?!?), probably because there are more tourists at this time of year than businesspeople. Nobody in Europe eats waffles like that for breakfast and it suddenly gave the breakfast area the vibe of a $69 Ramada Inn in the US or something. As for the unchanging options, it's tomatoes, cucumbers, sliced cheeses, sliced ham, muesli, yogurt, fruit, bread (mini baguettes or sliced white/brown bread) and sometimes croissants or pain au chocolat. There are some hot options (eggs, bacon, mini chicken sausage), but I rarely take it. Breakfast is so boring if you're there a lot like me, but you probably could really fill yourself up with a big meal to reduce your meal expenditures if you're a tourist on a limited budget.

Around the hotel is a newly refurbished pedestrian square with a few restaurants with outdoor seating (Dutch, Chinese, Turkish). At the train station (100m away) is a Burger King, Starbucks and a small Albert Heijn supermarket and further down towards the Amsterdam ArenA is a very good Japanese restaurant (Ichi-E) plus some other options for sandwiches, typical Dutch fast food (Febo), etc. Finally, past the pedestrian area (not in the direction of the train station) is a connection to another pedestrian only shopping district. There are apartments above the shops and restaurants, but there are everything from a KFC, McDonald's, Subway and small local/ethnic café's (ex. Surinamese), plus a Hema, Lidl, Albert Heijn and other shops. There are also ATMs/cashpoints all around.

Back to the hotel, you can a drink at the bar or use the small gym. Wifi is very good (super important to me) and free for multiple devices. There is no need to validate against a room number/name, so I connect as I'm standing in line to check-in.

I'm there all the time and within the past 10 days or so, there is one employee who (finally) recognizes me and greets me by name when I check-in in the evening. On the other hand, there is one employee who is always there for the check-out in the morning and she never seems to remember me.

There is a parking garage that costs EUR 19.00/night. I find it pretty expensive, but I usually park in my office parking if I can help it.

The hotel is fine, especially if you can get a good deal when it's not too busy. There are a lot of rooms, but when there's a concert at the Ziggo Dome or a game at the Amsterdam ArenA, it's obviously going to be much more expensive. I think that it's convenience is definitely worth it and I don't feel like it's a bother to go there. On the other hand, it's not very exciting either, but consistently good is worth something too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked this hotel as I was going to Sensation White at the arena, and location was perfect right next door!! I really can't find any fault at all room was brilliant modern and spotlessly clean. Reception staff were so helpful and friendly and the free breakfast was a real bonus, would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. Don't hesitate to book :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

we were 3 couples and requested rooms next to each other and Mr Matthias, reservations manager replied quickly and we got them
metro line is just outside the hotel
clean rooms, good service and a very nice buffet breakfast to get you up and running

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked this hotel because of it's close proximity to the ArenA. It couldn't have been more convenient, with the train station, the ArenA and restaurants all a minute or so walk away.
The room was expensive for a Hampton hotel, but I assume this was due to the concert we were attending. However, it was clean, comfortable and very fresh looking.
The staff were obviously very busy but remained helpful and friendly.
We particularly enjoyed the self service fresh waffles at breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet (309)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Myself and my partner spent a weekend in Amsterdam recently and chose this hotel as it was a cost effective and clean hotel. The prices of hotels in the centre were too high for our liking so we decided to stay a bit outside on a transport line.

The hotel is well situated for this purpose. The metro train ran directly outside the hotel and brought you right into the centre in 15ish minutes. The trains seemed to run every 5 minutes so we were only 20 minutes from the center at any time.

It is also very easy to get to/from the airport. The train stops at the same station (2 stops from airport for €4)

The hotel itself is a modern but basic hotel. The rooms are clean and modern. The bathrooms are very clean also. The breakfast provided with the room was quite good. There were plenty of options available that covered most needs.

The staff were very helpful but not always enough to cater for the amount of guests.

There was a free wifi in the hotel and it was good.

Overall, very happy with our choice as it was well priced and very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Address: Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Amsterdam Zuidoost - the most dynamic entertainment area of Amsterdam, the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena Boulevard hotel is within walking distance of the Amsterdam ArenA (home to AFC Ajax), The RAI Convention Centre, Ziggo Dome and one of the biggest IMAX cinemas in the Netherlands and many cosmopolitan restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.