We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

If you want a hotel in the city centre – this is not it. This hotel is on the outskirts of Amsterdam and right next to the Arena. For what you get this hotel is quite expensive. There is no restaurant on site and the nearby options are limited and by my experience quite poor. The hotel is sparsely furnished but to a good quality and it delivers a no frills Hampton experience – a shame about the crazy prices € 185 per room?!?!?!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    218
    68
    14
    10
See reviews for
101
147
18
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Ideal for Ziggo Dome, Arena and airport. Good amenities, free breakfast, comfortable rooms at reasonable price. Right next to station for access to airport and Amsterdam city. Would recommend if using Arena Area, not too close to the city though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My spouse was on a business trip and I tagged along. I don't think I would choose this hotel if we were just vacationing because it is outside of the city of Amsterdam. The location, however, is a short walk to the metro and a quick ride into town. There is a "neighborhood" shopping area close by. The room was clean although very small for two people. There was very little storage room, i.e., drawers. I used the night stand drawers for some of my clothes. I had no complaints about the buffet breakfast included in the room rate. The selection was more than adequate and included hot and cold selections. The restaurant next door was convenient and had a good selection for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed recently for five nights while attending business meetings in the Amsterdam Arena. The location was great for our purposes and the rail station is right outside the front door---very convenient. The rooms are nicely appointed and breakfast was included in the rate (EUR129/night). Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is a Good/Clean hotel. It is what you expect from a Hampton Inn. No frills. Basic and clean. We chose this hotel because we were getting into Amsterdam at 7:00am and only in Amsterdam for 2 nights but check-in is not till 3:00pm in all hotels. If we stayed in the city center we would have had to pay a lot more. So in the same price that we would have paid for 2 nights in the city center we got this hotel for 3 nights so that we can check-in early!

If you dont mind taking a 20 minute train to the city center then I would recommend saving money and opting for this hotel. They have a shuttle to/from airport and the train station is a 5-7 minute walk away.

Breakfast was also pretty basic. Again exactly as expected from Hampton Inn.

Here I have to give a special mention to Mr. Mark Welbers. We forgot a small bag in the hotel room and it has been a hassle to get it shipped back to the USA due to FedEx/custom issues. But throughout the process Mr. Mark Welbers has been very patient with us and has gone above and beyond his call of duty to help us. Finally, FedEx has picked up the package after many back and forth emails. Thank you Mr. Welbers!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the start of our Europe trip & were very impressed. The check in was easy & the reception staff were so friendly & helpful. We asked several questions & all were answered with great accuracy & advise. The rooms were a good size & very clean. The only thing that I didn't like was there was no fridge in the room. The area was great as it was right next to the station & the transport in Holland is so easy to understand so getting around was easy. There are also a lot of restaurants & shops close to the hotel so if you don't feel like going into Amsterdam you can find what you want in the area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent service and value for money the location was some distance from the centre of the city but there was a direct transport service the metro was very efficient. The Staff were very friendly and help

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Address: Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Amsterdam Zuidoost - the most dynamic entertainment area of Amsterdam, the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena Boulevard hotel is within walking distance of the Amsterdam ArenA (home to AFC Ajax), The RAI Convention Centre, Ziggo Dome and one of the biggest IMAX cinemas in the Netherlands and many cosmopolitan restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.