We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business stays, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Break Package
Ranked #76 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Northern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for business stays, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My spouse was on a business trip and I tagged along. I don't think I would choose this hotel if we were just vacationing because it is outside of the city of Amsterdam. The location, however, is a short walk to the metro and a quick ride into town. There is a "neighborhood" shopping area close by. The room was clean although very small for two people. There was very little storage room, i.e., drawers. I used the night stand drawers for some of my clothes. I had no complaints about the buffet breakfast included in the room rate. The selection was more than adequate and included hot and cold selections. The restaurant next door was convenient and had a good selection for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    256
    83
    17
    12
See reviews for
121
184
23
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed recently for five nights while attending business meetings in the Amsterdam Arena. The location was great for our purposes and the rail station is right outside the front door---very convenient. The rooms are nicely appointed and breakfast was included in the rate (EUR129/night). Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is a Good/Clean hotel. It is what you expect from a Hampton Inn. No frills. Basic and clean. We chose this hotel because we were getting into Amsterdam at 7:00am and only in Amsterdam for 2 nights but check-in is not till 3:00pm in all hotels. If we stayed in the city center we would have had to pay a lot more. So in the same price that we would have paid for 2 nights in the city center we got this hotel for 3 nights so that we can check-in early!

If you dont mind taking a 20 minute train to the city center then I would recommend saving money and opting for this hotel. They have a shuttle to/from airport and the train station is a 5-7 minute walk away.

Breakfast was also pretty basic. Again exactly as expected from Hampton Inn.

Here I have to give a special mention to Mr. Mark Welbers. We forgot a small bag in the hotel room and it has been a hassle to get it shipped back to the USA due to FedEx/custom issues. But throughout the process Mr. Mark Welbers has been very patient with us and has gone above and beyond his call of duty to help us. Finally, FedEx has picked up the package after many back and forth emails. Thank you Mr. Welbers!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the start of our Europe trip & were very impressed. The check in was easy & the reception staff were so friendly & helpful. We asked several questions & all were answered with great accuracy & advise. The rooms were a good size & very clean. The only thing that I didn't like was there was no fridge in the room. The area was great as it was right next to the station & the transport in Holland is so easy to understand so getting around was easy. There are also a lot of restaurants & shops close to the hotel so if you don't feel like going into Amsterdam you can find what you want in the area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Excellent service and value for money the location was some distance from the centre of the city but there was a direct transport service the metro was very efficient. The Staff were very friendly and help

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, BC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have continually been pleased with Hampton by Hilton properties and this one was no exception. The hotel was conveniently located to the airport a short train ride away and much easier on the budget than the central Amsterdam hotels. It was pouring rain when we arrived in Amsterdam and this Hampton was so close to the train station that we never even got wet.

After a quick check in, we were given a beautiful, bright, spacious room with a King Sized "uber-comfie" bed and pillows. Because of the weather, we didn't really want to go far, so were happy to find a couple very nice restaurants next door. We opted for a higher-end Chinese Restaurant called "East Harbour". The food was amazing, so delicious and hot. We had been traveling for six weeks and some good quality Chinese food is just what we needed.

The Hampton's have a breakfast included which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast had a great selection of food and beverages. Plenty to choose from to start the day right.

I would totally recommend this property and wouldn't hesitate to stay there on a future visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Decent value and great location for the Amsterdam Arena. Book early for a decent price. Comfortable bed and a nice walk-in shower. Feels clean and modern. Friendly staff and quiet rooms. I was on the top floor. Handy for the station too. About 20mins on metro 54 from Amsterdam Central station. Free wi-fi and a handy small business centre.

Room Tip: High up is great, but seems a quiet area once the local events are over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Address: Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Amsterdam Zuidoost - the most dynamic entertainment area of Amsterdam, the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena Boulevard hotel is within walking distance of the Amsterdam ArenA (home to AFC Ajax), The RAI Convention Centre, Ziggo Dome and one of the biggest IMAX cinemas in the Netherlands and many cosmopolitan restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.