We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for business travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Save Saved
You added Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%
Ranked #67 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent for business travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a new hotel located in a business district, also right next to the Bijlmer metro station. Modern hotel, large rooms, very clean and polite staff. I arrived early twice and each time they managed to offer a room, even though the check-in time was only a couple of hours later. Breakfast offers good variety. I tried to have dinner in the hotel but the restaurant was not open in the evening. Instead, I went to a Turkish restaurant nearby (not too many choices other than this), which is very good and offers both Turkish specialties and pizza. This is not a very lively neighborhood at night and also not completely safe and the center is quite far away. But you can take the metro to the Center of the city, in about 15-20 mins you'll be there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    177
    57
    10
    6
See reviews for
87
121
14
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

It is 100% what you would expect.I have stayed here twice now 2 months apart and as it is only 6 months old it is what you would want from a global chain - clean, comfortable, good staff, good breakfast, quiet room, OK TV choice, free wi-fi. It is also good value and handy for the offices, Arena, station etc

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is an excellent choice for a family of 4 like us. New,modern hotel and a huge room. Breakfast for everyone's taste. The stuff was service minded and always polite. The only dtawback is that is far from the centre of Amsterdam but the metro station is right next to the hotel. We would definitely go back in the future and we recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have stayed in this property for Holiday. It has a very nice location, it is just inside the train station and everything was so smart and pratic. Breakfast was so nice, staff was hepful and friendly. Rooms were clean and the price is acceptable for the service. You can directly get train in front of the hotel to Dam directly. Internet was free and it was the most important thing for me. I again thank you so much for the service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Hampton around. Thank you very much for sharing your experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is a brand new Hampton in a very convenient part of Amsterdam Zuidoost. Easy to get to, there is a direct train from Schipol Airport. The rooms are very small by American standards, even a bit small compared to other Dutch and German hotels I have stayed in, but they are perfectly serviceable for business travel.

The breakfast buffet is a Dutch interpretation of the typical Hampton Inn breakfast and it is perfectly fine. The area around the hotel is all under redevelopment and there are several restaurants and bars to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
A great headline, thank you so much for your review! We have indeed changed the breakfast a little compared to what you are used to, in order to give a more typical Dutch touch! Great to read your enjoyed your stay in the first Hampton hotel in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Conveniently situated in Amsterdam ZO, this hotel is only a short walk to popular venues such as Amsterdam ArenA, Heineken Music Hall, Ziggodome, and a large number of businesses. Also, only a couple of minutes leisurely stroll to Bijlmer ArenA station, which gives the traveller easy access to transport in and around Amsterdam; trains, Metro, buses, and taxis all run from here.
The hotel itself is a recent addition to the area, and is what you might expect for a new establishment. The workmanship in some places does appear to be "rushed", and if things such as loose power sockets don't irritate or worry you then you'll be just fine here. The view is nothing to write home about - it's nothing scenic. The breakfast buffet is ok, and the staff friendly and polite. The rooms are reasonably sized, although the sliding partition door (which either left the wardrobe open or the bathroom), did not fit soundly, and was a tad wobbly.
The bed was a little on the small side, and the mattress not one of the best I have ever slept on - if you have a restless partner, and you are not a deep sleeper, this could be an inconvenience.
I would rate the hotel lower, but the price here is key. We paid around 80 euros for the night, and given the extortionate rate of many hotels in Amsterdam, you'd be lucky to find a better hotel for the price. The price does fluctuate by date, however, so if it's coming in at over 120 euros/night - consider other options.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused. You have identified that power sockets are loose. In order to identify which room you are referring to so we are able to fix this, it would be great if you can sent us a small notification via info.arena@hamptonbyhilton-amsterdam.nl. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here and thought the Hilton name would guarantee a certain standard - but was dissapointed. This is a converted office block I have been told and that would explain a lot.

It is very convenient for Concerts at the Arena and Ajax matches (right beside it) and access to the business area. It is a short journey to the town centre by the nearby train station.

It does not have a restaurant really - more of a snack bar area (where breakfast is also served) - but it is right beside a number of restaurants which server fair food but it is noticeable how many people are sitting on their own which probably means they are hotel guests.

My room was hilarious as it was at the end of a corridor and when I looked out the window someone was looking straight back at me from the adjoining office block so I had to keep curtains close for privacy.

Breakfast was fine without being spectacular but they need to check the dishes they are putting out as I had to reject quite a few as they were not clean.

This is only a 3 star hotel at best but was very pricey for a one night stay (€200).

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms at the end of corridors or just over reception area. Currently there is building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We do our utmost to ensure our facilities and service are superior. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I am very sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with the Hampton by Hilton. We take all reviews very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Address: Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Amsterdam Zuidoost - the most dynamic entertainment area of Amsterdam, the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena Boulevard hotel is within walking distance of the Amsterdam ArenA (home to AFC Ajax), The RAI Convention Centre, Ziggo Dome and one of the biggest IMAX cinemas in the Netherlands and many cosmopolitan restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.